We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Good Location and very easy to find, as it is the first stop on the bus (assuming you get on the correct bus).

Had a standard basic twin room. Was clean and tidy. No air conditioning but they had windows that opened to compensate for this.

Was a little concerned that it would be very noisy due to its location. Some noise traveled in over night from the car park below, wasn't too bad though and we had the windows open all night.

Staff very friendly. Was a slight problem where they overcharged me. The girl at reception said one amount and charged me another. When I discovered it went down to reception and it was correctly immediately.

Be warned it is on a hill (as a lot of things in Auckland are), so if you don't like hills may not be ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddytarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review. Yes we're up the hill near the top of Queen street. Fine when you're going downtown but some exercise returning. The good news is there is a 50 cents bus to do the hard work for you. As our reviewer observes there are lots of hills in Auckland as its built on a series of extinct volcanic cones. It was pleasing that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight. It has a quirky foyer area, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was quiet modest [but clean]. No air conditioner so we left the windows open for a breeze. A little of the street noise drifted up, but nothing that we couldn't sleep through. All in all, very good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed on the park side, which i imagine was pretty quiet relatively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you found it excellent value and that it suited you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was in room 163, a small double ensuite. The best thing about the Kiwi was the location at the first airport bus stop (make sure you get on correct bus) and Queen Street eating and shopping options. There is a slight incline up a drive to pull your luggage. Door locks automatically (no lock on inside.) No dead bolt on door. Small door chain. Bed OK for sleeping. No electrical outlet in bathroom. Small shower. Wifi was very slow. Quiet oom facing park. Minor maintenance issues. The room has a closet. Pleasant, helpful staff. It was adequate and economical for my needs - one night before catching the bus out of town. I took a taxi to the bus terminal in the morning because part of the walk from the hotel is uphill. This also includes the walk to Sky Tower. The taxi cost for this was around $8NZ. The walk is up from town but manageable if you stop and browse along the way.
If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We're pleased it suited your purposes, that you found it economical with a location good and the staff friendly & helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Are you a small family looking for accommodation in downtown Auckland? This is the hotel for you. Book the family unit which will give you a fully equipped kitchen, sizeable fridge, good sized bathroom, small dining table and a double bed + 3 single beds, 2 TVs and free wi-fi access. It is within walking distance to the casino, shops, wharf area, small supermarket, 24 hr convenience store and art gallery. There is free parking on a first come basis and it is very close to the main north/south motorway access. The people at the reception were most accommodating and helpful with suggestions of what to see and do in the locality. We happened across this by chance and would book here again, given the convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThornNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. We're pleased it suited you, that you found it good value and the location worked well. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. Before arriving, I already mentioned to the management to reserve a parking for us as parking is very limited on the property.

The room was spacious. We took the 1-bedroom suite. The bathroom and kitchenette is fully equipped and up to our expectations. The amenities in the room is excellent. They even provide iron & ironing board, and also a heater. Kitchen comes complete with a microwave oven, a full size oven and a 4-burner stovetop.

However, the whole hotel is designated as smoke-free area and to those who smoke, you've got to go to the smoking corner outside the lobby. The lift is quite old. So, expect the bumpy ride.

The receptionist was very helpful when we asked for information regarding K-Road, convenience stores and lost of other stuff.

It was an excellent stay for a very low price. I really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thanks for the great review. The 1 bedroom apartment style that you stayed in are popular but unfortunately we only have 3. Thanks for mentioning the front desk staff - thay can really make a difference to guests' stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great location, set back off Queen St so would be quieter than other places on Queen St. Simple rooms but did the trick for what we wanted. The room was clean and tidy with minimal furnishings. Great service at reception. Great value for money too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissahigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We're pleased it suited your purposes particularly the value and location. We look forward to hosting you again sometime on your next Auckland visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked here because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. First stay spotless clean room with comfortable bedding. Problems with noisy people in next room sorted out quickly and pleasantly by Night Manager but still a lot of noise from lift doors banging all night and flimsy walls and gaps around doors. On checking out asked politely if any chance of quieter room for next booking (also requested at time of booking). Second stay was a disaster..the "quiet" room was on ground floor adjacent to car park, foyer, bar and dining area. I thought this must be some sort of a joke! No way was this going to be a quiet room and helpful staff tried to find me something better but nothing suitable so stuck with Room 3. Bed and pillow were a disgrace. Noise so bad from comings and goings I pleaded with Night Manager at midnight to find me a bed just to get some sleep, dreading what noise would have been like in morning. Night Manager very understanding and found me a room just to sleep in. It is a shame as excellent location and spotlessly clean with pleasant staff but I couldn't recommend to anyone due to noise problems in spite of reasonable price. Offer of 10% discount on next stay would not encourage me back under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you didn't have a good experience. Sometimes the inconsideration of other people especially when there is a concert in town makes it difficult for everyone. The bed issue is a mystery as it is identical to the one first slept on. Thank you also for recognising the effort our staff went in arranging multiple room changes in an attempt to satisfy you and also for highlighting the other attributes of our hotel - to quote you..."excellent location and spotlessly clean with pleasant staff".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
234 reviews
1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £39 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing