We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good location and accommodation”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at the Kiwi International in October 2013 in a family ensuite room - very suitable for 3 adults - room was very clean and maintained daily - noise level OK and kept window open all night - handy location to walk to downtown - easy ride on airport bus to hotel - wifi worked well - desk service very good - common bar and restaurant dated - lots of restaurants nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaLLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for your review. We pleased it suited your party of three and that overall you had a good experience. Thanks also for mentioning the reception service - the staff always appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    281
    221
    59
    38
See reviews for
94
205
199
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terang, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

travelled as a single traveller to Auckland for a short break. Found Hotel on the Internet, and found that I would suit my needs. While room was small, and had shared bathroom facilities, I was well aware of this when I booked. The room was near, clean, but a little hot. Most importantly I felt safe and secure in the accommodation at all times - Highly important for a single female traveller.
The Staff were friendly and more importantly advised of matters that would impact on availability of parking at the hotel.
Would recommend hotel for anyone looking for nice, but not expensive accommodation.
Only recommendation would make would be to have small fans in rooms to help cool them off.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking earlier, and securing a room with its own bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyLeanneMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for your great review. Lots of useful information for travelers and we agree that at times rooms can get warm and yes we have fans available from reception on request. Thanks for mentioning the staff - they will appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The room is very small, and there is some noise from other guests, but still good value for money. Location is good and close to airportbus and in the middle of the citycentre. Clean bathroom. we were on the groundfloor. Bar was shabby and ugly. Not inviting to go and have a drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your review. We're pleased the room and hotel location generally suited you. We agree that some of our rooms are of modest size but of course that's reflected in the good value pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Good Location and very easy to find, as it is the first stop on the bus (assuming you get on the correct bus).

Had a standard basic twin room. Was clean and tidy. No air conditioning but they had windows that opened to compensate for this.

Was a little concerned that it would be very noisy due to its location. Some noise traveled in over night from the car park below, wasn't too bad though and we had the windows open all night.

Staff very friendly. Was a slight problem where they overcharged me. The girl at reception said one amount and charged me another. When I discovered it went down to reception and it was correctly immediately.

Be warned it is on a hill (as a lot of things in Auckland are), so if you don't like hills may not be ideal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddytarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Yes we're up the hill near the top of Queen street. Fine when you're going downtown but some exercise returning. The good news is there is a 50 cents bus to do the hard work for you. As our reviewer observes there are lots of hills in Auckland as its built on a series of extinct volcanic cones. It was pleasing that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight. It has a quirky foyer area, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was quiet modest [but clean]. No air conditioner so we left the windows open for a breeze. A little of the street noise drifted up, but nothing that we couldn't sleep through. All in all, very good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed on the park side, which i imagine was pretty quiet relatively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you found it excellent value and that it suited you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was in room 163, a small double ensuite. The best thing about the Kiwi was the location at the first airport bus stop (make sure you get on correct bus) and Queen Street eating and shopping options. There is a slight incline up a drive to pull your luggage. Door locks automatically (no lock on inside.) No dead bolt on door. Small door chain. Bed OK for sleeping. No electrical outlet in bathroom. Small shower. Wifi was very slow. Quiet oom facing park. Minor maintenance issues. The room has a closet. Pleasant, helpful staff. It was adequate and economical for my needs - one night before catching the bus out of town. I took a taxi to the bus terminal in the morning because part of the walk from the hotel is uphill. This also includes the walk to Sky Tower. The taxi cost for this was around $8NZ. The walk is up from town but manageable if you stop and browse along the way.
If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased it suited your purposes, that you found it economical with a location good and the staff friendly & helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Are you a small family looking for accommodation in downtown Auckland? This is the hotel for you. Book the family unit which will give you a fully equipped kitchen, sizeable fridge, good sized bathroom, small dining table and a double bed + 3 single beds, 2 TVs and free wi-fi access. It is within walking distance to the casino, shops, wharf area, small supermarket, 24 hr convenience store and art gallery. There is free parking on a first come basis and it is very close to the main north/south motorway access. The people at the reception were most accommodating and helpful with suggestions of what to see and do in the locality. We happened across this by chance and would book here again, given the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThornNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We're pleased it suited you, that you found it good value and the location worked well. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing