We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiwi International Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
VR Queen Street(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ascotia off Queen(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Amora Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bianco off Queen(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Crown on Cintra Lane(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest on Mount(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
87
302
246
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
302
246
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomk roadtravel deskupper queen streetbasic hotelairport busplace to sleeprooms are smallwithin walking distancesky towertea and coffeeshort stayfirst stoppleasant staynew zealandconvenient locationcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at the Kiwi International in October 2013 in a family ensuite room - very suitable for 3 adults - room was very clean and maintained daily - noise level OK and kept window open all night - handy location to walk to downtown - easy ride on airport bus to hotel - wifi worked well - desk service very good - common bar and restaurant dated - lots of restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaLLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your review. We pleased it suited your party of three and that overall you had a good experience. Thanks also for mentioning the reception service - the staff always appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

travelled as a single traveller to Auckland for a short break. Found Hotel on the Internet, and found that I would suit my needs. While room was small, and had shared bathroom facilities, I was well aware of this when I booked. The room was near, clean, but a little hot. Most importantly I felt safe and secure in the accommodation at all times - Highly important for a single female traveller.
The Staff were friendly and more importantly advised of matters that would impact on availability of parking at the hotel.
Would recommend hotel for anyone looking for nice, but not expensive accommodation.
Only recommendation would make would be to have small fans in rooms to help cool them off.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking earlier, and securing a room with its own bathroom facilities
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyLeanneMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for your great review. Lots of useful information for travelers and we agree that at times rooms can get warm and yes we have fans available from reception on request. Thanks for mentioning the staff - they will appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The room is very small, and there is some noise from other guests, but still good value for money. Location is good and close to airportbus and in the middle of the citycentre. Clean bathroom. we were on the groundfloor. Bar was shabby and ugly. Not inviting to go and have a drink.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for your review. We're pleased the room and hotel location generally suited you. We agree that some of our rooms are of modest size but of course that's reflected in the good value pricing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Good Location and very easy to find, as it is the first stop on the bus (assuming you get on the correct bus).

Had a standard basic twin room. Was clean and tidy. No air conditioning but they had windows that opened to compensate for this.

Was a little concerned that it would be very noisy due to its location. Some noise traveled in over night from the car park below, wasn't too bad though and we had the windows open all night.

Staff very friendly. Was a slight problem where they overcharged me. The girl at reception said one amount and charged me another. When I discovered it went down to reception and it was correctly immediately.

Be warned it is on a hill (as a lot of things in Auckland are), so if you don't like hills may not be ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddytarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review. Yes we're up the hill near the top of Queen street. Fine when you're going downtown but some exercise returning. The good news is there is a 50 cents bus to do the hard work for you. As our reviewer observes there are lots of hills in Auckland as its built on a series of extinct volcanic cones. It was pleasing that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight. It has a quirky foyer area, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was quiet modest [but clean]. No air conditioner so we left the windows open for a breeze. A little of the street noise drifted up, but nothing that we couldn't sleep through. All in all, very good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed on the park side, which i imagine was pretty quiet relatively.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you found it excellent value and that it suited you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews