We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Great location! Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had our first trip to Auckland last week, and we stayed here. We both really enjoyed our stay. For the money, the room was clean, albeit a wee bit small. The shower was powerful and the service was great, and wifi was also free. The location is good although it's on a the top of Queen street, and that involves walking up a big ol'hill. Which we didn't mind, but there is also a 50c bus which will take you into the centre. The cinemas and theaters are close by, plenty of good Asian food right next to the hotel, and a bottle shop right across the street. Will for sure be staying here next time we visit this beautiful city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Whitters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thanks for the great review. We're sure other travellers will find it helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Kiwi international is a budget hotel ideally located at the top of Queens Street about a 5 minute walk from the CBD (up a steep hill) and round the corner from the bars, cafes and shops of K-road.
We were happy with the overall experience. We stayed in a double room that was small but adequately finished with a flat screen TV, comfy bed and tea and coffee. The rooms were serviced everyday and the bathroom was very clean.
Would recommend for anybody who are in the city short-term!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtisjoe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased it suited your purposes and I'm sure other intending travelers will find your comments useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The kiwi international hotel is just an average hotel,but in a good location on queen street.
We`d stayed there in november 2013 for some nights in an economic twin room.The room is small and very basic,but spacey enough for 2 people.I think the rooms are to highpriced for that what you get.We`ve had a room opposite the lift and it was very noisy and also the other guest where very loud when they come back to the hotel at late evening and night(often drunken party people).
The sleep quality was also just average,due to their old matresses.The shared bathroom was clean and the room,too.The staff was friendly.I think you can get better rooms for the same price if you try the motels a little bit outside of the CBD/Auckland(that`s what we do some weeks later as we were back in Auckland).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for your generally positive review. We agree that motels away from the central city are cheaper and probably better value but that's the same in every big western city. Unfortunately central city property prices are very high and Auckland in no exception. Most visitors however prefer to be where the 'action' is and the Kiwi International has a great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. The room was compact, but had everything you needed except hanging space. The bathroom was one of the nicest that we had during our month long stay in New Zealand. After some near scrapes, we parked our car in the free under hotel parking area and walked to everything we wanted to see or do, including the ferry to Devonport. Front desk staff were especially helpful. There was also an informative travel concierge. Having an elevator was a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for the great review. It's always gratifying to have such positive comments from travelers who have posted so many reviews during their travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The staff here are not particularly helpful. No basic information given upon arrival such as a local map - just cursory directions to room. We asked one of the reception girls if there was wifi in the rooms and she just replied "yes". We get to the room and find there's a password. We call reception to ask for it and were told we had to go back downstairs to get the password. She could have given it to us while we were down there. That's the kind of attitude the staff have. The wifi signal also drops every minute or so which makes doing anything other than sending emails very difficult.

On the plus side, the rooms are a good size though smell a bit funny, and the bathrooms are ok. Not too noisy and the location is good, being just a 5-10 minute walk from the bars and restaurants around the central district. The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant is a rip-off at $20. Much better off going to one of the nearby cafes where you can eat for half that price. A budget hotel charging $20 for breakfast doesn't make much sense to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for the review. It's unfortunate that the reviewer didn't have a good experience with our reception staff as they usually get very positive comments from reviewers. The reviewer also quotes our breakfast at $20 as a ripoff. A somewhat misleading comment given that our breakfast items start at $12 with the highest priced item being $20 which is a massive cooked & continental combination that is actually really good value. In fairness the reviewer did highlight a number of positive aspects which undoubtedly contribute to our No. 1 TripAdvisor ranking in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

At first it wasn't the best start! But after asking to be moved to another room they quickly accommodated me. The first room was on the top floor, has not undergone any renovations, at that time, but the the first and second floor were remodelled. My first room kinda smelled a bit like urine, but please understand it was a very old room. Once they moved me to the new one it was fantastic! I chose a private room complete with own wash/bathroom and tv. I like my privacy :-) it was close enough to all I needed, I would be out by 9am and crawling through the doors of the Hostel by 9pm! Fantastic walk abouts out there! The staff was friendly, the chef was awesome and OMG those delish kiwi nachos always finished off my nights there. They have internet/pc you can also use. I would definitely stay at the Kiwi Nternational Hostel again. Hope to go back to NZ for a third time!

Room Tip: My trip was actually in February of 2010 so hard to say considering changes may have been done since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ser07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Wow - that's nearly 4 years ago. We're a different place now. We are no longer a hostel but a full service hotel although at the budget end of the market and... we're rated No.1 on TripAdvisor's "Best Value" category for Auckland Central Hotels. So no more hostel but a range of great value private hotel rooms. Thanks for your review. We would look forward to hosting you again on your next NZ trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a temporary place to stay and after traveling to various backpackers and hostels, we found that this hotel had the greatest value for its money's worth. We were specifically looking for a place with minimal noise and we found that the location and the general structure of the interior made the noise level more than tolerable. The room was spacious, compared to similar accommodation around the same price level.

We were also surprised that there was a boiling water kettle, tea, coffee, a sink and a closet to hang clothes. We were not expecting so much for such a reasonable price. Happy with the room, we decided to book another night and were given a discount by the receptionist Sophie. She was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we were very happy and would definitely recommend Kiwi International Hotel to any travelers on a budget as we were in the cheapest double room available. As a result, we cannot comment on the more expensive options.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na_ee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation. It's great that it suited you and that you both found it excellent value. These guests stayed in our double economy room and as they said did not comment on our regular ensuite rooms. Hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
230 reviews
1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing