We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location at top of Queen St”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Kapiti
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location at top of Queen St”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I chose this hotel because of the price, location, access to transport and free wifi. I think it was reasonable for the price, especially as we were given a room which looked refurbished and was quiet. The Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The free wifi did not work in the room, which was annoying. The water pressure in the shower was good, but the toilet didn't flush in the morning because of low pressure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We agree it's annoying when the wi-fi won't connect. It seems to vary depending on your device. Thanks for the positive comments on the reception staff - they always appreciate that. We look forward to hosting you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    277
    213
    57
    35
See reviews for
93
200
194
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Pros:
1. Very close to CBD
2. Tons of restaurants around
3. Reasonable rate
4. Helpful staffs
5. Parking
6. Luggage room
Cons:
1. Small rooms
2. Old and tiny elevator
3. Weak hot water pressure
4. Only push lock to rooms
5. Walking uphill to the hotel could be little challenging

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2OOSh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your review and I'm sure most will agree that your list of pros outweighs the cons! Meanwhile we have just gone through the big (and expensive) procedure of replacing all our door locks as they were quite old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed on my own in a private room for 3 nights. I'll summarize it:

Pro- own room, clean room, good location in walking distance to ferry terminal, airport bus stops and public library

Con- loud hallways, doors closing sound like gunshots!, wifi access limited to 10mb per room per night and DOES NOT work in rooms so you have to sit in the lobby to use Internet. Staff not unfriendly but not overly helpful.

It wasn't a bad stay but I would choose somewhere else next time I visit Auckland .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannnnnnnnnnnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We're the first to agree there are fancier places around but of course they come with an appropriate price tag. There is a reason we continue to be rated No.1 by TripAdvisor visitors in the Best Value category for central Auckland hotels. Re the FREE wi-fi. Please note that we provide 100Mb per day (not 10Mb as stated by the reviewer). We did have a problem with one of our wireless broadcasters which is now remedied. My old Blackberry can get fast page downloads from anywhere in the hotel. We also have VDSL broadband for guests which has 5 x the upload and twice the download speed of ADSL found in most homes and hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Had a really pleasant stay at the hotel, a nice relaxed, sociable environment, an easy feel to the place, which really suited me, and I thought the staff there where great.
My daughter wanted to say hello to Sophie, (a young girl who works at reception), I think she became a fan of hers.
Will be back to Auckland in about 5 months, so see you again.
Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your great review. We're glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Not what we thought we were getting. It was like a upper class backpacker motel. No parking only if you are lucky. The service was, well if you got any, good luck. WIFI only connects in the lobby area. Unless single or for a bucks night not really worth it.

Room Tip: backpacker only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Regarding your review. It would appear your expectations were at variance with what we are. We are a hotel at the budget end of the spectrum. Our aim is to provide value hotel accommodation of a good standard in a central location that visitors to Auckland find convenient. This is justified by our consistent No. 1 TripAdvisor rating in the "Value Hotel" category - Auckland Central Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

this was our first time in Auckland, and hotel suited perfectly well.
clean rooms (a little small) and great service
they have luggage storage which was great for us
eventhough located at the top of Queen Street it has a nearby bus stop, climbing up the hill is a good excersise

Room Tip: there are great rooms with a nice view to Myers Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaO_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We're pleased our hotel suited your purposes and hopefully we'll see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had our first trip to Auckland last week, and we stayed here. We both really enjoyed our stay. For the money, the room was clean, albeit a wee bit small. The shower was powerful and the service was great, and wifi was also free. The location is good although it's on a the top of Queen street, and that involves walking up a big ol'hill. Which we didn't mind, but there is also a 50c bus which will take you into the centre. The cinemas and theaters are close by, plenty of good Asian food right next to the hotel, and a bottle shop right across the street. Will for sure be staying here next time we visit this beautiful city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whitters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for the great review. We're sure other travellers will find it helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing