We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, perfect rate, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have been staying in hostel and hotels with affordable prices in New Zealand, and this hitel by far is the best so far during my experience in New Zealand. 100% recommend Kiwi Internationa Hotel, reception, common áreas, romos, toilets and bathroom are completely nice, clean and confortable. Excelent, I had a really great time in my staying in Auckland.

Room Tip: I recommend this place, Really worth to stay, very very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osvaldoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for the great review. We're pleased it suited you and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very kind staff. The staff in the reception help with what to see in Auckland and we got free wifi

Small rooms, but ok middel standard.Toilet and bath where god standard

Very god and very central location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankjuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for your review. Great to hear it worked well for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been staying 3 nights at Kiwi International in a double room with private bathroom on the first floor. The room itself is very tiny, but for that price in that location I didn't expect a suite ;)
The bathroom was clean. The staff kind and helpful. I have booked in advance via their homepage, everything went smooth.
Our last night in New Zealand we also spent at Kiwi (we just dropped by and luckily they had availabilities), this time a double room with private bathroom on the second floor. The room was bigger than the one last time on the first floor, this time we even had a view on the Sky Tower. Our check out early morning (4am) was no problem at all, as the reception desk is open 24hrs.
We were lucky to get a parking space at the hotels premises during our last night, since during our previous 3-night-stay the parking lot was always full in the evenings. So better park your car in the afternoon to make sure you can park on the premises.
We didn't try their food, so can't judge on that. I f you don't mind walking 10mins to CBD (the way is very easy, just down the street) this is the perfect choice, walking back can be a little exhausting, as the last 100m are uphill.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelJunkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for the great review. It's always gratifying to get such a good review from experienced travellers. Thanks for the staff mention - they always appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

While the staff was very courteous and to the point, the hotel is a upscale bed and breakfast! The rooms are quite small and just about accommodates with your requirement, you might have to crunch in for space. Toilets and bath are clean, though the space is again; just right!
The best part of the hotel is, it is on Queen Street and from the hotel to the main harbour area is an easy 20 min walk; which crosses all important shops, souvenirs, restaurants, sky tower!

If your agenda to explore more and come back to the hotel only to refresh or sleep, then its worth the money. Cleanliness and hygiene is not a problem at all :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ShineInfinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks for your review. We think it's generally a fair review. We agree the rooms are on the smaller size but reflected in the value room rate. Thanks for the positive comments re staff, cleanliness and of course location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

the hotel is situated conveniently, just off the bus station and easy to find. Staff handled request in a nice manner. The upside is we were given free internet access (though with limits) and a room with a clear view of the sky tower; the downside is a small room (for four people) with only one window. All in all, it's worth a short stay given the price range.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LingLing_LOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks for your review. Good that you enjoyed the location and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the Kiwi International for 4 days in early March 2014. The first impression is that the area is quite downmarket, the entrance is down a dimly lit side road at the back of an apartment block, the reception staff aren't particularly helpful, the (free) wi-fi is unreliable, and the communal areas are very dated. However it is very central, convenient for the bus station, directly on lots of bus routes to loads of other places in the city, and amazingly cheap for the location. The room itself was small and the walls were thin - I guess this is expected from a budget hotel - but it was clean, comfortable and I didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your review. Pleased to see you appreciated the location and great value. The area is not really down market - Auckland's best 5 star hotel is 1 minute round the corner and the real estate values are among the highest in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the Kiwi International for 11 days in early Feb 2014 and then one night before flying out of NZ at the end of March 2014.

I was in Auckland to do some sightseeing and also to go to the NZ v India Test match at Eden Park. The Kiwi was absolutely spot on for enabling me to do this. The hotel is right at the top of Queen Street so it's a very pleasant downhill walk to Britomart to get the train to Eden Park (Kingsland) or you can walk across the bridge to Grafton station instead. Coming back up the hill can be hard work but that's what the red bus is for (just 50 cents per trip). K Road is close by as well as the huge Auckland Domain park so plenty of sights and sounds on the doorstep.

Even though the Kiwi is on Queen Street, it's set far enough back from the main road so you aren't really aware on any traffic noise. In fact, I was amazed at how well I slept. I treated myself to an Ensuite Double room and it was definitely worth paying a bit extra. Very clean and plenty of room to spread out and it was nice to have the ensuite shower facilities.

When I checked out and mentioned I'd need to stay again at the end of my trip, the bloke on the desk gave me a 10% off card which I used when I came back. That second time I just went for the Economy Single as it was only for one night. Again, the room was comfortable and clean but obviously the shower and bathroom facilities are shared when it comes to the Economy room. There's enough choice at the Kiwi to find a room that suits but my advice would be to invest in the Ensuite if you're staying for a decent length of time. Go for the Economy if it's just a night here or a night there.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Auckland thanks to the quality of my stay in the Kiwi. I really feel it offers the best value for accommodation in central Auckland. Next time I'm there I'll definitely be staying at the Kiwi!

Cheers guys!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed it and pleased to see you took advantage of our returners 10% discount offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £34 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing