We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very good for the price. Clean, tidy and excellent location. This is not a high end hotel and this is why you don't pay a high end price.
We booked last minute over the phone. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The first room we were provided with had the wrong bedding configuration for what we had booked however this was quickly corrected and we were issued with a new room.
Car parking is limited however it mentions this on their website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    280
    220
    59
    38
See reviews for
94
205
197
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The first thing to be careful about is that parking here is very limited! We were told that we would have free parking here but when we arrived we were greeted by the sign 'Car park full', which sent us into a panic! I went up to the front desk and he said we should park in a local car park, which I think I remember costing $18. I could clearly see some space left in the car park so I asked if we could park there, he eventually caved and let us. Later on we saw many more cars have squeezed their way in too, so it is worth asking even if it says it is full.

This place has a great location, you are right in the centre of town. The hotel also has a lift to get to higher floors.

The room itself didn't impress me very much. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and the walls were extremely thin. I could hear everything through them. They provide you with nothing, not even shampoo or shower gel bottles! The internet is ok.

Overall - great location and price, but not the best room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarbleMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your review. Not entirely accurate. Rooms are provided with soap, shampoo, tea & coffee and wifi internet - all free of course. Parking is also free, as is baggage storage and credit card payment (most hotels charge extra for this now). Even SIM cards for NZ mobiles are free. So - all round great value and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I must say that althought hotel wasn't really to good standard but certainly staff were well trained, friendly & helpful.
Hotel can be enjoyed by everyone. Food was great. Resealably clean room. Srounded by various resturents, bar, takeaways.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Max-anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your generally positive review. We are probably the best standard hotel in our market segment backed by the consistent TripAdvisor No. 1 placing in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed one night at the Kiwi International.
It was 7degC overnight in Auckland, and the heater was broken. When asking for a heater in the middle of the night, the front desk said there was little they could do. Then after insisting they came with a tiny electric heater and started to argue that the curtains should be closed better to keep the heat as if it was my fault that the room was icy.
This hotel is like a campground. I could have slept outside it would have been the same. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont wake up the guy in the lobby at night. He gets grumpy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racing_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
"A night from hell" Yes - it certainly was for our staff member who was fearful for his safety having been confronted by this ultra aggressive guest that screamed and shouted at other guest also. This individual has been trespassed from our property and is fortunate not to have spent the remainder of his night in a police cell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, tidy, and at a walking distance of some attractions, such as sky tower and waterfront, as well as to central bus transfer station. Good value for taxi to airport. Close to good cafes and restaurants. Very good price. Arrive early if you go by car. We didn't, so we had to use a close by paid parking. It wasn't expensive over night, but we had to take the car out very early the next day to not pay the hourly rate, so we couldn't sleep in although we were tired from the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariProton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, that you found it good value and the location suited. Parking is always a challenge especially right in the city. We can usually accommodate most when there is an even spread of international and domestic guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was only staying here for a night and needed a cheap room in a good location. Served its purpose, nice friendly staff and adequate facilities. I would advise guests to arrive early as it would be very inconvenient if you got here and the car park was full - you would have to park and pay down the road. (Luckily I got the last park!) Very basic but to be fair this was the cheapest place I could find in Auckland Central. Approx half hour walk to the Viaduct or a $10 to $15 taxi ride.

Room Tip: I had a single room with shared bathroom. I didn't love the fact that the room had a radiator on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakermanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the +ve review. We're pleased you found it good value. This reviewer stayed in one of our Economy rooms which are quite basic but as he commented are the best value hotel room in Auckland. Most of our rooms are standard Ensuites with a good range of services in them and not much more. As a matter of interest there's a 50 cent bus to the popular viaduct basin area or about $10 if you use our special taxi deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for just one night. We were given a En suite Family Unit (sleeps 4) even though there was just two of us. The room is clean, comfortable & has a little modern touch to it.
There is an open bar and restaurant available to guests.
However, the wait staff is a little rude (no manners) but its no biggie and it is a bit of a walk from the bottom of Queen St, but very centrally located! With very limited FREE parking.
I still would recommend this accommodation for travelers on a tight budget whose not wanting to stay in a backpackers.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with walking its best to get a room on the first floor as there are no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrauims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Many thanks for your review - pleased that you found it good value and that it suited you. We don't understand your room tip as we have 2 elevators??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing