We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is great accommodation for out of towners to stay when going to Auckland for a concert at vector Arena.So central and right on Queen Street.Very affordable and clean and good for 1 or 2 nights.Offstreet parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chezkez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks for you review and recommendation to other visitors to Auckland like yourself. We hope you enjoyed the concert and look forward to hosting you on your next Auckland visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Not being from Auckland the directions were spot on and I found it easily, even though I arrived in rush hour. Staff very helpful on arrival and room fine, even been changed up from a single to a double. It was clean and warm enough. Large cupboard to put case in so not stuck in room. It is at the top of a hill but only twenty mins down to the waterfront and thirty back up and that is for someone in their fifties! One night the people in the room next door were talking til after midnight but someone came up and asked them to stop and they did. Queen Street full of places to eat, I would recommend Elliot Stables. Hotel very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank michellecfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased it suited you and appreciate your recognition of our great location and value. I'm sure other travellers will find that useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here as We'd read it had a great location near the city and was on the way to the airport via the shuttle. This was correct & great if you like being on top of a very long steep hill. The hotel is right next to the famous "k road" which in my opinion isn't a bonus. The area is dark and doesn't feel secure to walk around until you get into the city further. During our stay we didn't get much sleep. The walls are extremely thin and our room was freezing. The one and only radiator in our large room was barely Luke warm during winter so it made it hard to sleep. Being on a busy main road, it gets very noisy especially at night when the clubs and bars kick out. Better insulation would prevent all of this. After a few nights we decided to pay extra and move to a room with our own ensuite. This was an improvement to a degree however on our last night we had the pleasure of being woken at silly hours in the morning to young lads letting off the fire extinguisher and then hotel staff having a stand off with them a few doors down. Don't mind the rest of us trying to sleep! We did get free wifi but you do get a limit for your stay so your limited as to what you do with the internet. However when we moved to the left side of the ensuite side of the building we couldn't connect to the wifi from our room. We either had to go out in the hallway by the elevator or sit In he lobby. Not ideal. When my partner enquired about the "free SIM card" he was pressured into setting it up and putting money on it there and then by the tour lady. Even when we said we didn't want any trips she continued to pester my partner to book things through her. I get you need business but you can't man handle guests. Overall the hotel is old and dated and could do with an update. The lifts have seen better days and didn't look safe. Half of the headphones and mics didn't work in the PC area - believe me I tested them. Not good when your trying to Skype people from home. Couldn't use the wifi to Skype as it would of eaten my limit In minutes. Myself and my partner had previously stayed in a cheap budget accommodation nearer the ferry port for a few days prior for a cheaper price then the kiwi international and found it a lot more nicer and accommodating to the guest. Wouldn't return here again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks for your review. A number of your comments are trivial and knit picking. We still believe we are the best value budget hotel in Central Auckland especially when free parking, free wi-fi, no credit card surcharges etc. are taken into account. All of the central city is noisy at times. The only way around this would be to stay in one of the expensive hotels that don't have opening windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say.... Myself and my partner stayed for 5nights and hated every minute of our stay. Our room was freezing, no heating, stained sheets with damp musky bed linen, the windows may aswell have been left open with the drafts coming through.the pictures on there website were nothing like the room stated that we had booked!Although it was a large room it was more like a prison cell.at night it was noisy, and you could here everything outside including the homeless people begging outside. I'd stay well away.and I'd say it was the rougher part of auckland so be aware of beggars also the hills up and down towards town were a real nightmare if unfit or have disability issues.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Adams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Malicious (suspicious?) and highly inaccurate. It just doesn't stack up. Who would stay in a place where they "hated every minute" for 5 nights - especially when there is a no questions asked refund policy if guests not happy with their stay. Specific comments of the hotel are simply untrue. And other emotive nonsense... "you could here (sic) everything outside including the homeless people begging outside". I've seen beggars in cities all round the world. They don't even speak let alone make themselves heard a block away. But wait, there's more... "the hills up and down towards town were a real nightmare". Compare this with a review yesterday - "It is at the top of a hill but only twenty mins down to the waterfront and thirty back up and that is for someone in their fifties! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had to attend a funeral in Auckland and shared a room with my parents for 3 nights. One would think this was a potentially stressful situation however the room was clean. There was no noise, free wifi, the communal hotel facilities were easily accessed with the front house receptionist even lighting the fire of the large lounge only for me (so I could read my book and snuggle). Situated at upper Queen St was super as I love K-Rd people watching and browsing. If you are looking for a cheap, no frills clean and cheerful hotel with a great location to the central city - you should consider this, (especially if you want free parking).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anjietc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your great review and positive comments. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fair value hotel for the price.
Twenty minute walk to the Marina/shops
Room was adequate for two people without falling over each other.
En suite with toiletries were supplied.
On site parking was really useful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank edawnedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your review. We're pleased it suited you and you felt it was value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I wanted somewhere reasonably priced in the city that did not charge for parking (which can be quite hard to find) The kiwi international was the one we chose. The rooms were ok, but it looked like the bathrooms, has been "added on", which made the room smaller, but for the price this was OK. The location at the top of Queen Street was nice & central. The staff were friendly & helpful, and refund they cost of one nights accomodation as we had been unable to get to auckland because of bad weather. This was VERY good service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your positive review. The staff especially appreciate recognition as you have done. Hopefully we'll see you again on future visits to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing