We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest advertizing, awful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I want to warn other travellers of this hotel. My BF booked it because the hotel's webpages gave a good impression and the map on said pages made the hotel's location look like it was close to the Sky Center bus station.

On arrival, the reception looked ok, but the room smelled strongly of solvent and was in awful condition. I complained about the smell and we got another room (stupidly we had already paid w/ credit card so getting refund would have been a big hassle).

The interiors and furnishings looked to be from about the 50s with no repairs made since. The first floor is currently being renovated, though I would suggest demolition as a better option.

There were stains on the carpet, dirty-looking curtains, scratches on furniture, the room smelled musty, and there were mould spots on the bathroom door. The linen and towels seemed to be clean but were very worn and faded. The bathroom was clean, apart from the mould. The general impression was one of neglect and disrepair.

To top it all off, the map on their webpage was distorted or somehow altered, when we compared it to a paper map, there were some streets missing -> this hotel was MUCH farther from the Sky center than it seemed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_p009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzmarksand, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2009

Fair comment re the old decor but our new renovated ensuite rooms will be available within weeks. The smell was new paint. They are as good as any 4 star hotel - just a little smaller. New everything including queen & king single beds and flatscreen TVs. All linen, pillows & towels throughout the peoperty being replaced now. Re your map comment - suggest you give your advice to google who make them - we don't. Sky City IS very close. Perhaps you got lost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank itxi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank LAX428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kabahippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica20161028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mariacristinamon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £34 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing