We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
DK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Really good hotel!”
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Only thing to point out is that it is a 15 min. walk to downtown. So if you love walking on steep hills, great place!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    283
    225
    60
    38
See reviews for
96
206
202
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We found the hotel to be clean yet simple. Ideal for backpackers or budget conscious travellers.
Close to downtown shops and numerous restuarants and nightlife. And within walking distance to the University's.
The rooms were clean and recently remodeled.
There were, share laundry and cooking facilities.
The staff were very friendly and it was convenient to have a travel desk and internet cafe on the prmises.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierratraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe,Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was simple but clean with a modern bathroom and shower.
The Hotel was situated at the top of the main steet and surrounded by inexpensive restuarants and within walking distance of the university.
There were, shared washing and cooking facilities, much appreciated.
In all I would recommend it to backpackers and tourists looking value priced accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nv_mediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I travelled with a group of 30 teenagers and it could have been a nightmare but the staff were SO helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the kids had a great time. The newly renovated rooms were fantastic. A clear improvement when compared with the couple of rooms that hadn't been renovated that a couple of kids stayed in. We ate there every night and the food was good, once again nothing was too much trouble. I would definately stay there again, the location was good, the staff were good. It suited what we needed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night after spending one week in the South Islands. Upon checking in I thought the hotel looked like one of those hotels from the horror movies especially when going through the corridors. However after entering the room found that it was fitted with modern amenities like flat screen tv. Found that the heater did not work but so had to sleep with extra covers. The breakfast in the hotel was slow and I think the guy who took our order must be the manager, waiter and chef at the same time. The breakfast was excellent but it took too much of our time to wait for it.. I recommend the hotel to hire a chef maybe or an extra waiter? The hotel location is superb though as you only have to walk downhill if you want to go down town, or to sky city. Going back up is another matter though. . I recommend you catch a bus to go back up to the hotel. Overall assesment, nice, clean, cheap accomodation in the middle of town. My only complaint is the manager/supervisor tried to be chef/waiter all rolled into one thus making our order late.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrykuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The Kiwi International Hotel was a terrific place to stay, especially for first time visitors to Auckland. It is located in the city, therefore everything was accessible by foot, another bonus for travellers. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the meal that we had was superb!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleshaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2009

its the best place for beckpackers how traveling with a car and very good price for a dubel rooms some guests are very derty but its not the hotel folt,
over all we enjoy staying there and thanks a lot for the reacption staff you help us a lot

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 67 in Auckland
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing