We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 59 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Ascot Parnell will always bring to mind one of my most memorable experiences visiting New Zealand. The hosts Bart and Therese reflected the gracious and welcoming spirit I encountered from the New Zealand people. We were pampered in a very private, elegant, respectful and select environment. From the meet and greet (pickup if required at the airport) to the beautifully appointed rooms to an elaborate multi choice breakfast it was the perfect respite to refresh and start our next day. I found a home away from home and new friends.
Helen Skender, Langley, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
237
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We could not have had a better stay! Bart and Therese are perfect innkeepers. They looked after all our needs and provided us with a base in Auckland that really felt like home. The Parnell location worked out great, with restaurants, shops, pubs, and banks all within easy walking distance. And did we mention the breakfasts? Custom-cooked exactly to order!

We began and ended our three weeks in New Zealand at the Ascot Parnell, and it’s hard to image our trip without this wonderful facility and its charming owner/managers

Room Tip: The panoramic view of the harbor lights at night is worth the price and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sierraguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We deliberated whether to stay in Parnell and were so glad we did. It is a lovely area of Auckland with pleasant walks through parks or down to the beach, and not VERY far to walk into town (The PM has a house here!) We were thrilled we chose this B and B. It is light, airy, spacious, with welcoming hosts. After a long haul it was exactly what we wanted. Bart was really caring and even offered some advice on my jet-lag. The video is accurate in its portrayal of our garden view room. The bed very comfy, the shower room always spotless (Bart attributed this in part to Mr Muscle!). The lounge is welcoming and comfortable with nibbles available if you are a bit peckish. There is also an interesting range of books on NZ. The lounge extends onto a balcony (all can be seen on the video) with wonderful views of the harbour. You are invited to use both whenever you want and have access to the kitchen to prepare light meals that do not involve any cooking. The breakfasts are sumptuous fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cooked - whatever you want. A range of restaurants offering very good food is available a short walk away. Very atmospheric. And interesting places to visit very close by in the form of 2 cathedrals. We LOVED it all. Ann and John. Durham, England.

Room Tip: Just go by what you want to pay. We were very happy with our garden view. Our room would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right from the very warm welcome to a very fond goodbye, Bart and Therese at Ascot Parnell made our stay in Auckland a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

The location is excellent with Link buses to the city and surrounds virtually at the doorstep.GPS guidance made for a quick and easy trip from the airport into Parnell. The shopping in Parnell Village is excellent with something to suit everyone, as well as many excellent restaurants and cafes.

The rooms and bathrooms are meticulously presented with every attention to detail. And the breakfasts are amazing - wonderful choice and flavours, with a bowl of perfectly prepared fresh fruit to begin with.

The two saluki dogs are gentle, friendly and very well behaved but only allowed to meet guests if appropriate -- that is, if you are a dog friendly person. We were, and loved them !!

Bart and Therese are incredibly warm, welcoming, and informative regarding any required travel tips.

Our stay was a highlight of our trip because we felt so much at home and so well looked after. Thank you to Bart and Therese whom I will always think of as friends.

Room Tip: The Harbour View room with adjoining bathroom is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_BAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldinga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The ride from the airport with plenty of laughs, the superb accommodations, world class view, the most excellent food and attention to detail, all done with care, friendliness and warmth combined to make our stay at the Ascott Parnell perhaps the best B & B experience ever. Bart & Therese went above & beyond to ensure our comfort and enjoyment. Thank you, thank you, Pat Fraser. Aldinga, S. Australia

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely. The view from the guest deck is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I am so glad I found this B@B.Travelling with friends from Canada to New Zealand and also meeting up with my birth mother.Bart and Therese were unbelievably hospitable,always going the extra mile to make us feel relaxed in their luxurious hotel that has an atmosphere of home away from home.
We ate the most scrumptious breakfasts.I challenge Gordon Ramsay to stay at the Ascot and try Therese's Flemish Toast.!
I was impressed that no matter how busy Bart and Therese were they graciously helped us with further travel plans, and kindly gave my Mother and I a ride in their car to the Auckland Museum,and the BlueElephant for dinner.Both a must for those who visit Auckland.We could have taken a cab but riding in Bart's BMW was the icing on the cake!Put the Ascot on your list of places to stay.You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and have plenty of room for luggage.The largest suite has a spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A wonderful start and end to our trip to NZ. The room was lovely, spacious and very clean. Breakfast was very nice. Bart and Therese are incredible hosts, making us feel so welcome we decided to finish our holiday here too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 St Stephens Avenue | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming b&b accommodation in a garden setting with city-skyline & harbour-views. A tranquil oasis with all Auckland attractions in easy walking distance. Spacious suites, personal service, Airport meet and greet, free-WiFi & free secure parking.Our B&B is the most centrally located Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Auckland. If you are here for holidays, a quiet getaway or on business, we offer the perfect relaxed place to stay in historic Parnell Village; located just 1 km next to downtown Auckland. Our contemporary home offers lodging in three spacious, thoughtfully furnished suites, each with a luxurious marble bathroom, all have either garden- or harbour-views, air-conditioning and iPod/iPad-dock. Guests can relax in the spacious guest-lounge or on the sunny-balcony with city sky-line and harbor-views. Sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are served by your hosts. You do not need to rent a car while staying here as everything is at your doorstep.Parnell Village with 50plus restaurants, The Parnell Rose Gardens, Vector Arena and The Auckland Museum are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing