We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcoming Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast for two nights at the end of May 2014. We arrived on an early morning flight from LAX and were very tired. Right away, as I turned my phone on for the first time after landing, there was a nice text message from Bart welcoming us to New Zealand (a friendly touch!). Before we arrived, they had also offered to pick us up at the airport but we declined since we had our own rental car. The B&B was easy to find.

Bart and Therese allowed us to check in early since no one was in our room the night before. I had come down with the flu just before leaving for our trip so this was great they were able to accommodate us! Right away Therese made me some tea which helped my sore throat. I felt bad that during our two-night stay, I was totally unable to enjoy Auckland due to my illness. Bart and Therese were very helpful and Bart made us a wonderful breakfast on our last morning (I was too sick to come out on the first morning). From what my husband says, there are some good restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

The view from their porch is lovely and the entire place is clean and comfortable. I would definitely reccommend to others and would stay again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Audrey,
You are so kind to take the time to write this review. We felt so sorry that you had this nasty bug, but do hope that when you return you will be in better health and can enjoy our home and hospitality to the fullest ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Kindest regards, Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
235
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wonderful hosts, superb apartment in reasonable location, excellent advice. Very comfortable and quiet. Best ever. Good value.
Not much more to be said, but I am required to fill in the minimum of 200 characters.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSB592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Amazing short and sweet review ! Thank you so much ! Hugs and love from Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at this beautiful city apartment B&B two and half days. The one thing that I didn't understand (and I have not gone back to look at the website) was that the balcony was off the living room and not the bedroom. Since it was early winter, there was a lot of dark and the beautiful lights from the city and harbour (still on New Zealand spelling) were magical.

The location was perfect. 10 minutes to the Domain (a huge park), a few minutes to restaurants, and a nice 45 minute walk to the CBD and harbours.
Bart was a great host who picked us at the bus station which was pretty close by for no charge. We took advantage of his service to take us to the airport, which was so nice. New Zealand is the land of “no worries”, “no drama” and “no problem” and Bart is a fine example of this attitude.

Room Tip: We had the bedroom/living area with a "Jack & Jill" bath. I got the bedroom, Bart made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsondesertrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear ladies from Tucson,
It's been a while, but we really appreciate your feedback and positive comments about our B&B. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the Harbor View Suite with the magnificent views. Indeed during our winter months, the night sky is bright and the city lights magical ! Happy to hear you are planning to return next year ! We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regard, Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at the Ascot Parnell several times, and hope to return. As a frequent visitor to New Zealand from Canada, I have made the A-P my first choice for accommodations in Auckland. The location is quiet and convenient; the rooms are high quality. The owners designed their B and B down to the finest detail, selecting the best quality of materials and fittings; that attention to detail simply expresses the whole experience. By the way, Bart makes superb omelets!

I appreciate being within waking distance of the Museum and Domain.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good. I may prefer the one at the front, near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear John, It is always a great pleasure to welcome you back to Ascot Parnell all the way from Canada. We really appreciate your support and thank you again for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Bart and I look forward to your next stay ! Take care. Hugs from Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Bart and Therese are wonderful hosts in this amazingly comfortable B&B which feels more like a home. Well, it is a home and they share it graciously. Just enough privacy, just enough friendliness and great food! Extremely comfortable rooms and baths, great view, convenient location (Don't miss the beautiful cathedral nearby) walking distance to good restaurants, etc. We were so glad we booked an extra night in advance. It was hard to leave.

Room Tip: Always check the photos of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Jerrie, Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for taking the time to write this glorious review ! Take care and hopefully see you again next year. Warm regards, Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

As a single traveller I was a little anxious about arriving in Auckland after a long flight and being on my own for this part of the trip. But my concerns soon faded away after being met by Bart at the Airport (a brilliant meet and return service) and taken to their beautiful home. It was wonderful to have a welcome pot of tea on the balcony overlooking the amazing views! Bart and Theresa are outstanding hosts and I will always remember their hospitality and their delight in being of service to their guests. The location is beautiful and conveniently close to all the boutique shops and restaurants. My suite was spacious and luxurious with beautiful views of the waterfront, it looked magical at night. The breakfasts are prepared from fresh food and I can really recommend the Belgium Pancakes! I would loved to have stayed for longer than 3 nights but I will return to the wonderful Ascot Parnell and to continuing those interesting conversations with its very charming and professional Hosts. Thank you Bart and Therese - loved my stay with you,

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you like a view - book one overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Tricia, Sorry for the late response, Bart and I had a little holiday away. Just wanted to thank you very much for the very positive comments and tips you left to read for other travelers. It was delightful to meet you and we look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards Therese & Bart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Bart and Therese are amazing hosts, the location is perfect, the views outstanding, and the hospitality memorable.
The reports that we had read were glowing in their praise and you arrive hoping this place lives up to it's name....and it does !!
We stayed for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier. They are the consummate professional BnB hosts who leave no stone unturned to ensure you stay is the best it can be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear RFFF,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ascot Parnell and want to thank you very much for taking the trouble to write such a glorious review. We look very much forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Auckland. Best wishes, Therese & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 St Stephens Avenue | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming b&b accommodation in a garden setting with city-skyline & harbour-views. A tranquil oasis with all Auckland attractions in easy walking distance. Spacious suites, personal service, Airport meet and greet, free-WiFi & free secure parking.Our B&B is the most centrally located Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Auckland. If you are here for holidays, a quiet getaway or on business, we offer the perfect relaxed place to stay in historic Parnell Village; located just 1 km next to downtown Auckland. Our contemporary home offers lodging in three spacious, thoughtfully furnished suites, each with a luxurious marble bathroom, all have either garden- or harbour-views, air-conditioning and iPod/iPad-dock. Guests can relax in the spacious guest-lounge or on the sunny-balcony with city sky-line and harbor-views. Sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are served by your hosts. You do not need to rent a car while staying here as everything is at your doorstep.Parnell Village with 50plus restaurants, The Parnell Rose Gardens, Vector Arena and The Auckland Museum are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing