We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Class”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Sheer Class”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The use of space and colour in the rooms is a brilliant example of how to design a modern boutique hotel. I was fortunate enough to get a room on floor one, which was right beside the restaurant; I came in late without a booking and had one of the most astonishing fish on a type of bean / rice dish that I've ever eaten - wasn't rushed either. Free WiFi in the rooms, an adaptor provided at front desk with very good extra socket points for charging / re-charging; this is a small, but niggly detail that a lot of hotels miss and you end up having to unplug a lamp or something beside the bed...very comfortable sleep; very quiet. Staff helpful and friendly. One small noticeable thing: you can see wear and tear creeping into the richly coloured carpets, walkways etc - it's hardly a complaint, but it's worth keeping an eye on. All in all 'tho, the best value hotel I've stayed in for many a year..great feel off the place. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Auckland after this experience (can see why it ranks No. 1) - and the hotels in NZ are generally of a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    244
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
139
740
88
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel is walking distance from the wharf and is surrounded by pubs and restaurants.
One of NZ oldest pubs is across the street. The hotel was renovated a year or two ago so everything is new and an eclectic retro art deco feel.
Rooms are large, super restaurant, good breakfast and happy hour as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This hotel is ideally situated, very comfortable and tastefully decorated has a good restaurant and attentive staff. It is small and has a personal touch. It is a little gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

It's really nice when you go to a hotel that sets itself apart from the big, characterless 5 star hotels, but still keeps all the nice little luxuries. Hotel DeBrett does this - and oozes charm, style and funky sophistication.

DeBrett does its best to feature NZ products and produce, and for a good reason - NZ has some of the best of it on offer. This doesn't come cheap, of course, and it feels as though DeBrett hasn't spared any expense. The beds and linens are particularly amazing. Happily, this doesn't reflect in the price, which is certainly reasonable for 5-star big city standards.

Service is great, with a young, energetic staff. Forget stuffiness (you're in NZ after all), this is a place where the casual friendliness is matched with warm smiles and an eagerness to help (again, very typical of NZ). Particular credit must go to DeBrett's new food and beverage manager - very knowledgeable about all the yummy things NZ has to offer.

Location could not be beaten - it's located on a very cool street with plenty of interesting and high-end boutiques. If you're wanting something more mass-market, it's one street up from the main Queen St mall. And if you have business in Auckland, it is located right in the middle of the business area.

All in all, I love this hotel. I stay here often. Don't let Aucklanders' old perceptions (from the 60s and 70s when it was a rowdy bar) of DeBrett guide you - this place is cool, sophisticated NZ luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed here with my fiancé on the tail-end of our R and R leave from the United States Army. It was a wonderful way to end our leave! The hotel is in the best location if you like being in the middle of all the action. We were within walking distance to many great restaurants and the best shopping in Auckland. If you want a quiet stay- the streets and bars are a little loud outside of your window so just be cognizant of that.

The decor was modern and trendy, looked just like the website pictures. The hotel staff is knowledgeable about the area and very friendly- they recommended some great local restaurants even though they have an award-winning restaurant in their hotel. The bed was by far the most comfortable bed we had slept in in a long time. The hotel offers a very nice complimentary continental breakfast with a great spread of pastries, fruit and yogurt. There is also complimentary drinks served from 6:30-7:00 every night for guests. A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room- room 1.5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We thought we'd treat ourselves for our final night in NZ before flying back to the UK. It was fantastic. Magnificent decor, friendly staff, lovely room. Absolutely faultless. The welcome drink in the Drawing Room was great too. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We wished we had booked for many nights. The bedroom was a little small and funky, but the bed was very large and sooo comfy. A real shame we had to get up at 5am to catch a flight. The bathroom had a free standing bath and separate shower, with top of the range toiletries. Centrally located, we had a short walk around the Waterfront before popping back to the Drawing Room for complementary drinks. It is a lovely room that creates a relaxed home from home feeling. And free drinks are always good. We popped out again before returning for our dinner reservation in the restaurant, Milk and Honey. We enjoyed great cocktails in the courtyard area before being seated. The food was amongst the best we've had, served politely by friendly staff. We joked with the waitress not being to use a corkscrew when challenged with a cork not a screw cap, but she refused to let me open it.
We will definitely be making the trip down under again, if only to stay here once more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing