We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss dinner in the hotel restaurant”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel was very fashionable, trendy and quite comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient. The location is very close to the waterfront and train station which is why we chose this hotel. We were travelling south to Wellington the following morning on the Overlander. The highlight of our stay was dinner in the restaurant! The service was great. Outstanding slow-roasted lamb and filet mignon were our choices for dinner. The wine was a very nice Pinot Noir from Cottier Vineyards. Truffles for dessert capped off a perfect meal.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a small very stylish boutique hotel. The service and food were excellent. The staff were very friendly but efficient and the location in central Aukland was very good. This was our first stop in New Zealand at the start of a three week tour .This hotel gave us a wonderful base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

With 2 days in Auckland we wanted to stay centrally and we wanted to be comfortable. What we found at Hotel Debrett exceeded our requirements and left us feeling refreshed between long flights.
The room we stayed in was quiet, beautifully decorated, with a bed that facilitated a great night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and well laid out, with good products available. The staff were able to help out with a range of queries, including some business needs, and recommended a very impressive restaurant.
The hotel breakfast is well worth getting up for.
Overall, this hotel is a beautiful place to stay, ideally located in central Auckland - I could not fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLynden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Gorgeous boutique hotel situated in the nuggety High St precinct of Auckland CBD. Service is faultless, the appointment of my room was wonderfully sophisticated. The restaurant is a design treat with a menu to match. In my next life, I'm going to live there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyLBernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The use of space and colour in the rooms is a brilliant example of how to design a modern boutique hotel. I was fortunate enough to get a room on floor one, which was right beside the restaurant; I came in late without a booking and had one of the most astonishing fish on a type of bean / rice dish that I've ever eaten - wasn't rushed either. Free WiFi in the rooms, an adaptor provided at front desk with very good extra socket points for charging / re-charging; this is a small, but niggly detail that a lot of hotels miss and you end up having to unplug a lamp or something beside the bed...very comfortable sleep; very quiet. Staff helpful and friendly. One small noticeable thing: you can see wear and tear creeping into the richly coloured carpets, walkways etc - it's hardly a complaint, but it's worth keeping an eye on. All in all 'tho, the best value hotel I've stayed in for many a year..great feel off the place. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Auckland after this experience (can see why it ranks No. 1) - and the hotels in NZ are generally of a good standard.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel is walking distance from the wharf and is surrounded by pubs and restaurants.
One of NZ oldest pubs is across the street. The hotel was renovated a year or two ago so everything is new and an eclectic retro art deco feel.
Rooms are large, super restaurant, good breakfast and happy hour as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This hotel is ideally situated, very comfortable and tastefully decorated has a good restaurant and attentive staff. It is small and has a personal touch. It is a little gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £181 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing