We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel, Nice Staff. That being said . . .”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel, Nice Staff. That being said . . .”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I didn't love at. And at $300 plus per night, I want to love it. The public areas of the hotel are great, nicely designed, the carpeting is awesome. Where it really falls down is the rooms. We stayed in two different rooms, a standard room and a suite. Neither one had any windows that opened so the rooms tended to get a bit stuffy. Also, the suite only had interior windows, looking onto other parts of the hotel. Specifically, the bar was right outside the windows of the suite's living room. So you basically had a choice of whether the room felt like a fishbowl or a cave. We chose the cave and kept the curtains drawn the entire time. The bathrooms, however, were fantastic.

Also, the hotel is in a charming section of downtown Auckland with narrow streets and about as much character as Auckland can scrape together. The result is that the rooms in the hotel get very little sunlight. And in a city with a fantastic harbour and lots of natural beauty it is a bit of a shame to seem pretty claustrophobic.

In the end it kind of feels like a super premium priced hotel that doesn't really quite work.

One note on the service. On their web site they talk about a manager's get together in the evening with a complimentary cocktail. I noticed we were actually charged for it on our bill.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
736
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed here on our trip over many continents. A special place with great decor and fantastic service. The small and friendly atmosphere was enhanced by the 6.30 drinks in the library where we met other residents in an informal setting. Room small but well laid out with all needs catered for. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor if possible but other rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel was very fashionable, trendy and quite comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient. The location is very close to the waterfront and train station which is why we chose this hotel. We were travelling south to Wellington the following morning on the Overlander. The highlight of our stay was dinner in the restaurant! The service was great. Outstanding slow-roasted lamb and filet mignon were our choices for dinner. The wine was a very nice Pinot Noir from Cottier Vineyards. Truffles for dessert capped off a perfect meal.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a small very stylish boutique hotel. The service and food were excellent. The staff were very friendly but efficient and the location in central Aukland was very good. This was our first stop in New Zealand at the start of a three week tour .This hotel gave us a wonderful base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

With 2 days in Auckland we wanted to stay centrally and we wanted to be comfortable. What we found at Hotel Debrett exceeded our requirements and left us feeling refreshed between long flights.
The room we stayed in was quiet, beautifully decorated, with a bed that facilitated a great night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and well laid out, with good products available. The staff were able to help out with a range of queries, including some business needs, and recommended a very impressive restaurant.
The hotel breakfast is well worth getting up for.
Overall, this hotel is a beautiful place to stay, ideally located in central Auckland - I could not fault it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLynden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Gorgeous boutique hotel situated in the nuggety High St precinct of Auckland CBD. Service is faultless, the appointment of my room was wonderfully sophisticated. The restaurant is a design treat with a menu to match. In my next life, I'm going to live there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyLBernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The use of space and colour in the rooms is a brilliant example of how to design a modern boutique hotel. I was fortunate enough to get a room on floor one, which was right beside the restaurant; I came in late without a booking and had one of the most astonishing fish on a type of bean / rice dish that I've ever eaten - wasn't rushed either. Free WiFi in the rooms, an adaptor provided at front desk with very good extra socket points for charging / re-charging; this is a small, but niggly detail that a lot of hotels miss and you end up having to unplug a lamp or something beside the bed...very comfortable sleep; very quiet. Staff helpful and friendly. One small noticeable thing: you can see wear and tear creeping into the richly coloured carpets, walkways etc - it's hardly a complaint, but it's worth keeping an eye on. All in all 'tho, the best value hotel I've stayed in for many a year..great feel off the place. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Auckland after this experience (can see why it ranks No. 1) - and the hotels in NZ are generally of a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing