We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great decor and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Impressive hotel where a lot of time has been spent on the decor. This wasn't at the detriment of the service either which was friendly and attentive. John, the owner, had a early evening drinks with a free glass of wine for the guests where he answered any questions we had. Parking was fine, valet carpark was only 5 minutes away, all we needed to do was ask for our car and 5 minutes later it was stood outside. Only small downside was that we couldn't open the windows but the hotel is in a busy area and sleeping at night with open windows would probably have been difficult.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
735
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights in late December. The room, although small, did not feel cramped except for the narrow space between the bed and desk chair. The premises were comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. The decor was delightful including the live Christmas trees with unique sequined birds and other nature-related ornaments. We enjoyed speaking with the husband and wife owners who each hosted a cocktail "hour" (actually only 1/2 hour) to learn some of the history and the effort that went into preserving many of the pieces from the former/original Hotel DeBrett. For example, the dining room chandeliers were made using the globes of light fixtures from the original hotel. The complimentary breakfast showed much more effort than the typical continental served by most establishments. We would highly recommend Hotel DeBrett to those who are looking for an establishment with a personalty rather than the typical big hotel or franchise decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jugularatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Debrett our last night and only wish we could have stayed longe at the gorgeous New Zealand hotel. The rooms are spectacular, the staff is wonderful and you MUST eat in their restaurant! I think it's the best food in Auckland. Take note of the decor...absolutely gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had 2 nights at deBrett's and enjoyed every second of it! The room was wonderful - beautifully decorated, well-proportioned. Lovely to have a little sitting room and separate bedroom area. We ate breakfast in the Kitchen each morning which was a wonderful way to start the day and had our best meal in NZ in the Kitchen on one of those nights. Excellent staff throughout the hotel, every last detail is thought of and thoroughly enjoyed the drawing room concept with a hosted drink at 6.30pm - very nice indeed.This is the kind of place that you should keep the kids well away from and just come along, as adults and soak it up and enjoy everything it has to offer. On top of all of this, it's wonderfully located to take in the sites around High St, Britomart & the waterfront. We will be back - without the kids again!

Room Tip: we were concerned that our street facing room would be noisy at night - absolutely no problems at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelec69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in DeBrett for one night coming from Queenstown for the next day's early morning international flight back home. The room is interestingly designed. It's quite small though comparing with the price we paid. But i guess this is the idea of design boutique hotel. We also didn't pay more to get better rooms. So definately no complaints in that respect. But what was astonishing to me is that the shampoo, conditioner, including body lotion bottles in the bathroom were half-empty. It's really very unpleasant feeling upon arrival. What's even more interesting is hotel staff's reaction when i gave him the feedback the next morning. He first tried to explain to me that they usually refill the bottles after clients have checked out. I had to emphasize twice that those bottles were actually half-empty. I had no problem with reusing the bottles. Even when he did get my message, there was no apology in place.

We had to leave at 6:30am for our flight, so we asked the kitchen to prepare some toasts, fruits and tea for us to take away, since breakfast is included in our room fee. The communication was difficult to some degree, but they managed to do it. When our taxi was waiting for us outside the door, i realized that there is no plastic fork/spoon to eat the fruit salad. Neither was there plastic knife to put butter on the toasts. They did gave us butter though. I asked them how we were supposed to eat the breakfast. Can one ever image such a reply from an unique boutique luxury hotel? The other staff on duty said to me: "You can go to the convenience store across the street to buy knife and fork". That was not all. On the way to the airport, one of the teacups started to leak.

I have to be fair and say that when we arrived, the staff working then was more friendly. But unfortunately with our experience, service was mainly poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Having travelled around New Zealand for two months I feel confident in saying that, restaurant apart, DeBrett exceeded our expectations.

The first floor 'loft suite' room was spacious and had great natural light from its' big windows. The DeBrett signature striped carpet added a playful touch and the furnishings were a cut above anything else we have seen in NZ hotels. Our two young children slept on the sofabed which worked out fine as housekeeping put it away daily. The king size bed in the separate bedroom was excellent and the air conditioning was quiet and efficient.

DeBrett has an excellent bar and a cosy study complete with an honesty bar, books, Mac laptop and games. In the common area between the bar and restaurant are some sofas and the double height atrium provides light. It's a comfortable place to hang-out.

The highlight of the hotel are the confident and friendly staff who made us feel genuinely very welcome and were always there to help if we needed it. The excellent service even extended into helping us check-in early to our next hotel in Auckland.

DeBrett is an excellent hotel that manages to appeal to a wide range of traveller without appearing to ever try too hard. The mid-century modern style is thoroughly authentic and blends-in with the beautiful building superbly.

DeBrett would have got five stars across the board but, unfortunately, over the new year they were terribly understaffed in the restaurant. We also found the food average for the price range and at one meal had the waitress trying to convince our 8 year old daughter that the chilli con carne was in fact bolognese - it wasn't. Finally, the breakfasts were very average too.

Great hotel, a million times better than the average, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motughosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed at Hotel DeBrett for 3 nights for a conference and my colleague and I were very impressed with this amazing hotel. The refurbished art deco building is centrally located, and the rooms are large and very smart. The staff were great and the restaurant provided excellent cuisine at breakfast and lunch. We also took advantage of the nicely appointed drawing room to get some work done - what a great facility. Overall, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing