We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too boutique and cramped but great location, food and staff”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Thought I would give this place a try after all the excellent reviews and booked an O'Connell suite.

I arrived late in the evening on a Friday and the surrounding streets are filled with young people hitting the bars and clubs on Queen St. Was warmly welcomed (I recommend the hotel car pick up too in a lovely 7 series BMW) and shown to the room across a maze of corridors and through any number of doors. On entry to the lobby you are met with warm wood and rich colours.

The room is a contrast to this with stark white and very bright colours, especially the carpet. The room to me did not ooze luxury and it felt very narrow and cramped. To me it also felt a bit like a child's playground. Downstairs is a sitting area with small dining table, TV and DVD player. The other thing that is odd is that the window on this room is faced with a concrete wall!
There is also a toilet on the ground floor. I did not discover this until late in the second day as I thought it was a door if you had adjoining rooms!!

I think they have tried too hard to be "boutique" and thrown as many decorative items in as possible. Sometimes less is more!

Upstairs the bedroom (queen bed) is pretty tight, again, the space felt cramped. Again, vibrant colours. The bathroom is a highlight with great tiling. I also suspect the toiletries are not replaced for each guest and are topped up. This seems to be a trend of hotels at the moment.

Continental breakfast is included in the rate and hot food is available at very reasonable prices. The breakfast area is light and area with a friendly attentive team.

I elected to order room service which comes from the hotel restaurant (Kitchen). Again it is all reasonably priced. Also ordered some wine and they were happy to deliver this before the meal as there would be a bit of a wait - very much appreciated. When the food arrived it was worth it. Sensational presentation and the taste was wonderful. It was a little tepid but that was its only fault.

I had a late evening flight and asked about a late checkout. Until 12:00 pm would be complimentary or until 2:00 pm would be half a day's rate. I elected the latter and was pleased to be able to do this as some reviews had indicated they had issue with this.

Over all it was a good stay but I would probably not go back. It is very well located and the double glazing on the windows keeps the noise at bay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel DeBrett
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Lovely hotel in perfect location.Vibrant neighborhood full of charming shops,bars,restaurants and alleys.Easy access to all the sights esp the waterfront and the space needle.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Kitchen restaurant great service,great food,lots of advice from staff as to what to see and do while in town.
Loved the evening cocktail reception in the Drawing Room.Allowed us to meet other guests and swap stories and advice.
Rooms were wonderfully decorated,all in different style.Loved the dark tiled funky bathroom.
Glad we stayed here and not in big chain.
Ate at SOUL by the water,Kitchen,and Cafe Hanoi.All dining musts while in Auckland.
Went on wine tour on Waiheke Island.Our highlight!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel DeBrett is one stylish hotel! With a fabulously handy location, bang in the middle of Auckland CBD, once you enter its doors, you are transported to a world of luxury and uniqueness! The rooms are all very individual, but all to the highest quality, and, despite being in the centre of the city, are remarkably quiet. Fittings and furnishings (and the included mini bar extras) are top notch. Staff are all very friendly. We had dinner there, and cocktails, all of which were excellent, as was the yummy breakfast. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay; it's somewhere really different from your usual 5 star hotel chain, yet has all, if not more, of the luxury you'd expect. We have booked our return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobzinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If you are looking for somewhere special in Auckland then this is the place. Small, sophisticated, warm and welcoming. Delightful rooms and public area, excellent food and drink, staff who always smile and can always help and chat. Other places may have more facilities but nowhere else has the charm and quality of this great little hotel. Has the charm of a small upmarket Scotish Highland hotel with all the style of city chic. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Good points:
- Central location
- Very comfortable beds
- Good design
- Professional and friendly staff
- Cozy bar with fireplace
- One of the best restaurnat in Auckland

Bad points:
nothing

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton_Pekkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Good:

The place is absolutely 'funky'. Loved the decor, the feel the ambiance, event he staff uniforms are funky.

We had breakfast in our package and we had the option of continental breakfast and we ordered it 'in-room'. Not a lot of places can boast of the such a sumptuous breakfast delivered in your bed. Wonderful.

The staff were lovey and extremely helpful. glad to help with directions, maps, places and restaurants to visit.

Evening drink complementary is a bonus. Big collection of dvd's and books to kill time. Complimentary internet is handy when travelling anywhere.

Give the restaurant a try..high quality food and nice deserts. Even their 24hr menu is quite good (and not just coz they have to have a menu).

The Bad:

1) We stayed in the classic room. The entrance was so cramped (with a large cupboard as soon as you opened the door) that the girls getting our breakfast in the morning ended up spilling the orange juice or sometimes or coffee. Poor things, for no fault of theirs. To their credit they got us a replacement each time. But they need to do something about the room entrance so at lease their large trays can come through nice and easy.

2) The lighting could be better. In an attempt to create a slick (which they undoubtedly manage quite well) they have sacrificed brightness. There are many lights in the room but even with all of them going at the same time, sometimes there just isn't enough light.

3) Be mindful with room service from the restaurant, can take a while on a busy day.

4) Parking 25$ (not mentioned on their website) additional.

All said and done, I will come back here but choose a bigger room.

Room Tip: Go for the boutique room at the very least (better value for money).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is very well located in Auckland. We stayed there twice, once on an outer room and the second time on the inside, which has a lower price. The inside room overlooks the dining room and/or into windows of other rooms. Pay the extra and get the outer room so you can get natural light in the room.

Staff are very friendly, rooms are well decorated and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is very good. I like the way the owners have thought of small things such as doors fixed to nit slam shut. P

rices for a stay are a little expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £148 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing