We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hands down my favourite hotel in New Zealand. As an incentive travel planner I have travelled NZ and around the world and stayed in some very special properties - Hotel DeBrett is world class. We enjoyed a lovely experience from check in to check out. The rooms are fabulous - each one is different and cleverly furnished. Nothing has been overlooked including padded coat hangers! The public areas of the hotel are just lovely, welcoming and very differenct from your standard hotel. The bar area (great martinis!) is cosy and has a beautiful fireplace with lovely comfortable furniture to lounge in. Adjacent to this is the Hotel's restaurant - the food is fantastic!! Beautiful hotel, five star plus! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a very lovely time here, sunk into the most wonderful bed of goose down. The hostess was very personable and sociable. The interior design was really gorgeous and the hotel was very quiet given its central Auckland location.

Room Tip: Not sure but ours on a corner was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiandLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I spent three days here and it was a pleasure.

On arrival, the entrance didn't make me think I was in for a terrific time, its ordinary and less than spectacular. It's on quite a busy street and I wasn't really prepared how to get my two large suitcases from my hire car to the hotel. There was nobody out front and I was lucky to find a space outside and go in to find the staff who then told me they had valet parking. I would suggest that any drivers have a hotel number and cell phone to hand, just in case. The city drivers are less than patient with people blocking the busy street.

Anyway, once inside I found the staff to be very relaxed and friendly. That self-confident service style that is reassuring: you don't doubt that things will be done when someone tells you they will do it.

My room was on the first floor which had me worried in a downtown city. But wow! They have it very soundproofed and it was deathly quiet in my room. Free Internet service and a strange 'milk on demand' process.

The decor was great, the reception was ever helpful and friendly. The bar and restaurant we top class and Sunday night had first class jazz entertainment.

I recommend this place.

Oh yeah, it is a bit pricey but I think you will be able to justify it to yourself.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Alpha_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I managed to find Hotel de Brett after a friend recommended it. We enjoyed a lovely lunch there and decided to book a night as a treat. This has to be the nicest place we have stayed at in Auckland. We loved the decor, the comfortable, warm and luxurious beds, the privacy and intimacy of the hotel, the hotel guest reading room, and the fact that the food was so so good! The vibe from the staff, whether it be at reception or the restaurant, was polite, helpful, professional, and willing to go the extra mile. They set a standard that is something for other hotels to strive for. Recommend to anyone wanting to treat themselves for just a little bit more cash.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel DeBrett for three days at the tail end of our Honeymoon. I'd never stayed in a "Boutique" Hotel before, and wasn't sure what to expect. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is decorated with a very cute 60's modern theme. It's a little bit like being transported onto the set of "Mad Men". The hallway is a little much, as is the elevator, but for the most part it's very nice.

Our room (2.5) was amazing. They spared no expense on the bed, the sheets, and the comforter. It was bliss sleeping in there. The french press was nice for the morning coffee, as was the fresh milk delivery.

The bathroom was also great. I think it had the greatest shower I've even had the pleasure of using, with a rain showerhead which pumped out tons of hot water, and a little handheld as well. My wife also enjoyed the very deep bathtub.

The location is also great, about a block off of Queen St. down by the waterfront. Just far enough off the street that we weren't disturbed at night, but close enough where you feel like you're a part of everything.

The free continental breakfast was good. We did eat at Kitchen one night, which I found disappointing, but will review that separately.

The only downside is the expense. $300 NZD a night was our most expensive hotel of the trip. Still I don't regret it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 2.5 was our room, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I chose this hotel from the great Tripadvisor comments. We like quality hotels that fit a couple and teenage son. Mostly it lived up to expectations. Great location in the city- near the harbour, shops, restaurants. Very stylishly decorated throughout. Staff are warm and friendly. Continental breakfast with espresso coffee is very good. The cleaning was excellent and turn down service nice. I was disappointed with our room however - it was inward facing to the hotel public area and we would have had to close the curtains for 3 days. Not comfortable. We were offered an upgrade because all our room types were booked. We had to accept because the room we had was unacceptable. That cost an extra $50/nite on top of what was already quite expensive. The new room was also dark. This affected my experience at the hotel.

Room Tip: Take care that you don't get allocated an inward facing room as it looks out through colored gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familygdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel is very nice, the staff is friendly, breakfast is good.
Unfortunately the room we were assigned, though spacious and tastefully decorated, completely lacked of natural light and overlooked common areas. So we had to choose between keeping the curtains closed all the time or beeing seen by other guests. For the price we paid, we expected something better.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwitaliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £166 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing