We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutiquey at its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Boutiquey at its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

What a surprise! We walked through a nondescript door on a business street and entered another world. This hotel is made up of several buildings that have been combined with ingenuity, great decorating, and unusual areas. What was the alley between buildings is now a wonderful restaurant that is obviously enjoyed by locals, too. Excellent food at all meals and very unusual decorations and lighting. There is a study where guests can go and have complementary drinks and snacks.
Every room is different so it is hard to give a general overview, but ours was wonderful and funky. First the bathroom was perfect, modern, and interesting in its design. The bedroom was very small with a tiny closet, but that did not matter because 1. the bed was comfortable with beautiful linens and 2. there was a living room. This is where the room was "funky." The living room was small but comfortable and included fridge and microwave. The thing is that it had windows and a door that lead right into the restaurant. It was fun to see people eating and there were curtains and also a second colored glass window to give some privacy. Unsure if there was some coating on the glass to shield the room from view during the day, but at night one could look directly into the room while eating dinner. No walking around in your underwear or less! We loved our room and its quirks and loved the hotel and its location. Close to shopping and restaurants and a short walk to the harbor. Much better then staying down at the water.

Room Tip: We loved our room -- there is only one like it so just give the description from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
132
719
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Now this is a really COMFORTABLE hotel. It does not look like much from the street view, but once you enter the doors you will be greeted with a visual treat of decor and really calm and friendly service.
The trip to the room was great. The room thought not huge, was more than adequate. LOVE the bed. VERY COMFORTABLE.
The location of the hotel is also really great. Right in the heart of town, but situated where there is no noise. Really an oasis of sort.
Internet services were free - up to two devices in a room. There was a problem with the internet for my wife, but the staff sorted it out immediately.
Everyone here (staff) seems to be happy and provided their service with a genuine smile.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kestral120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I dont have any doubt in all the hotels that I have stayed in AKL this provides the quietest rooms..on top of this great service and fabulous fit-out .I was in a loft suite and did not really need all of the facilities..2 bshower 2 toilet for myself as a single traveller.
Strongly reccomended.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep this is where you come!!.Anywhere as I understand a high level of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a mid winter dinner to attend with our lovely friends - all 18 of us! Because we didn't want to drive home afterwards we booked a standard room! From check in to car valet parking, (it was taken care of before I asked), to a quick look around the small boutique hotel with stunning fitout - furniture ranging from 50's to 60's I would assume with the look of Art Deco rounded corners and lovely colours and stripes. The owner hosted a coctail in the private lounge - nice (we broke away from our group for this and learnt heaps about the Hotels past). The bathrooms were stunning with the black spotted tiled interior. Everything oozed comfort and style - with colour and it was quite eclectic - not boring! The bars and lounges were fabulous as well. BUT - you simply must try their food! We raved......we are all seasoned eaters and drinkers but this place was a stunner. I will recommend it all over the place. BTW my rave isn't induced by alcolhol!

Room Tip: Can't really but ours was fantastic - double glazing keeps out the street noises but the city wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilycoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hands down my favourite hotel in New Zealand. As an incentive travel planner I have travelled NZ and around the world and stayed in some very special properties - Hotel DeBrett is world class. We enjoyed a lovely experience from check in to check out. The rooms are fabulous - each one is different and cleverly furnished. Nothing has been overlooked including padded coat hangers! The public areas of the hotel are just lovely, welcoming and very differenct from your standard hotel. The bar area (great martinis!) is cosy and has a beautiful fireplace with lovely comfortable furniture to lounge in. Adjacent to this is the Hotel's restaurant - the food is fantastic!! Beautiful hotel, five star plus! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a very lovely time here, sunk into the most wonderful bed of goose down. The hostess was very personable and sociable. The interior design was really gorgeous and the hotel was very quiet given its central Auckland location.

Room Tip: Not sure but ours on a corner was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiandLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

I spent three days here and it was a pleasure.

On arrival, the entrance didn't make me think I was in for a terrific time, its ordinary and less than spectacular. It's on quite a busy street and I wasn't really prepared how to get my two large suitcases from my hire car to the hotel. There was nobody out front and I was lucky to find a space outside and go in to find the staff who then told me they had valet parking. I would suggest that any drivers have a hotel number and cell phone to hand, just in case. The city drivers are less than patient with people blocking the busy street.

Anyway, once inside I found the staff to be very relaxed and friendly. That self-confident service style that is reassuring: you don't doubt that things will be done when someone tells you they will do it.

My room was on the first floor which had me worried in a downtown city. But wow! They have it very soundproofed and it was deathly quiet in my room. Free Internet service and a strange 'milk on demand' process.

The decor was great, the reception was ever helpful and friendly. The bar and restaurant we top class and Sunday night had first class jazz entertainment.

I recommend this place.

Oh yeah, it is a bit pricey but I think you will be able to justify it to yourself.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpha_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing