We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
723 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

my wife and i throughly enjoyed our three nights stay at DeBretts, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was not large but very comfortable, the location of the hotel was perfect for our first visit to Auckland. the restaurant served great meals

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
131
718
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

what a lovely hotel this is with very helpfull staff we had a fantastic continental breakfast included in the price of the hotel we also used the restaurant for one evening meal it was very good but very very expensive hotel is in a great location would definatly use hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymanc1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
570 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I are sad that we can give the Hotel DeBrett only 5 stars. It deserves more! Our stay at the Hotel DeBrett was the nicest overall hotel stay I have ever had. All in all, a tremendous value for the money, given that internet and a fabulous continental breakfast are included in the room price.

The hotel has a great downtown location, but it is not a place to have a car. A staff member took our car to wherever it was being parked, and a staff member brought it back when we were ready to leave. The $20.00 charge per day seemed reasonable in a big city.

The lovely continental breakfast included fruit and muesli, beautiful breads, yogurt, plus fresh orange juice and coffee.

Then there was the restaurant. We never ever eat lunch in a hotel restaurant, but there we were, newly arrived at the DeBrett and it was 1 pm. We were about to set out in a city where we knew nothing. Then I saw the menu for lunch, and we decided to stay for lunch. Best poached salmon I have ever had in my life! Yes, it was extremely expensive compared to Subway, but the food was superb.

We looked at the dinner menu, which seemed a bit heavy. We asked about getting fish entrees for dinner, but at that point, they had only one portion. The restaurant staff actually purchased the additional portion and phoned our room to let us know it was available. Our dinner was equally as delicious, including a quail egg and salmon appetizer.

Our room overlooked the atrium and was very light. I especially liked the heated tile floors in the large bathroom.

Staff was exceptionally accommodating in every way. We highly recommend the DeBrett!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel deBrett is located near the wharf and in the center of the shopping district. Easy walks to almost everything. They have a wonderful trendy style restaurant that won the best restaurant honors for 2012. The hotel offers free drinks each afternoon to get everyone introduced, and to answer any questions people might have about Auckland. We had a great 4 day stay!

Room Tip: The loft room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjordan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here in two chunks over the past week. I'm in a customer service business, and the owner of the hotel DeBrett has perfectly implemented every axiom out there--from the drink in the drawing room in the evening, to having fabulous books in said drawing room for guests (I finally got to read The Big Sleep while there), to great food, to quiet rooms with fabulous linens, to very customer-sensitive front desk staff, this hotel was a home run. We were there with our 17 year old, who slept on the very comfortable sofa bed on a separate level, so we had perfectly adequate privacy and avoided a second room bill.

It's not a Westin--no big front lobby and so on. But it was perfect for us as we flew in, left for a "tramp" and then came back again before departing NZ.

Room Tip: We stayed in both buildings (High St. and OConnell on the other side of the dining room) and both we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Had a lovely stay at this boutique hotel hotel in Central Auckland. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, and whilst not huge it was fine for just the 2 of us. The bed was very comfy the bathrobes luxurious, the bath divine!!! Our room was internal which I found a little strange, and our windows were right into the Dinging/Lounge are of the hotel, and it was a busy Sunday evening in the lounge bar with Caitlyn smith playing...we looked right at her back whilst she sang before joining the crowds....it may be that people can not see into the room...but we felt funny about it and kept all our curtains closed, making it quite dark. Having said that it did not effect our lovely evening! Very funky hotel decor, and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. We enjoyed everything about this hotel. The location in the CBD was perfect, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was good, we liked the modern architecture, and breakfast was excellent. We also liked having a glass of wine in the sitting room each evening. It gave us a chance to meet the other guests. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing