We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We only stayed one night at Hotell DeBrett. The hotel was a bit hard to find at first, and I was concerned about finding a parking spot near the hotel upon arrival. I was really glad when I discovered that the hotel had a valet service, which turned out to work like a charm. It took away a lot of the stress when arriving at an inner-city hotel. We were also upgraded upon arrival by a charming receptionist, who also helped us with our luggage. I found our suite to be spacious and accommodating. In the evening we had a complimentary glass of wine, and got to meet some of the management and the other guests. The hotel helped us make restaurant reservations at a great place nearby. The only thing we could fault was the continental breakfast. It was at best average, and it didn`t have much to be desired compared to a lot of other places we have stayed. Overall – would recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
736
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

From the moment we walked into this hotel - the mood was set. It is fun, funky and colourful! The staff are absolutely awesome - always so helpful and had the best in-the-know recommendations to help make our stay just a little bit more special. Great location - shopping around High St is great and only a few minutes walk to the Viaduct and Queen St.
Continental breakfast was all you need - although could do with some daily variation if you are staying longer than a couple of days.
We are so glad that we stayed in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CQflyer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel DeBrett was an absolutely perfect start to our Honeymoon!! My husband described it as my personality in the form of a hotel. It's funky, colourful, clean, comfortable and has amazing service! Every single inch of the room was tidy, clean and detailed!! The furniture completed the rooms mod feel with the striped carpet, completely tiled bathroom and amazing bed head also contributing to the mod theme.
BUT, I must say that the absolute best thing about our room was the bed!!! OMG - it was like being swallowed by a cloud and my husband and I never wanted to get up!!!
The service was fantastic and I would recommend paying the $20 a day valet service if you have a car as the streets are so narrow and would be a pain to try and find parks and navigate through.
The elevator is completed tiled with mirrors and was a huge surprise when the cooper doors of the old fashioned looking lift opened!!
I would 100% recommend this too ALL my family and friends and we will definitely be returning to Hotel DeBrett!!

Thank you to the great team at Hotel DeBrett

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slkuskopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a modernistic, well maintained boutique style hotel about ten minutes walk from the harbour front and restaurants. Our room was reasonably sized and comfortable, with a big bed, but sadly with a view to abandoned shops and offices just over the road.

The welcome was friendly and the staff were helpful. The hotel is small enough not to feel busy and to allow personal attention. Guests are invited for complimentary pre-dinner drinks in a private library each evening (whether eating in the hotel or not).

Our chip and pin credit card was rejected at check in. In fact this was simply reception staff error, but it caused us some concern on our first day in NZ until we successfully used it in a harbour front restaurant.

The continental breakfast included in our rate was good quality, but rather limited in choice. There is no on-site parking, other than for 5 minutes on the street for loading.

Overall this is an acceptable hotel for a couple of days in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here in February and absolutely loved this hotel. The decor is quirky - a brilliant and quite unique mix of different styles and eras which works perfectly. Our room was spacious and bright and and I would dearly have loved to have been able to take home the great white wrap-round leather chair in the corner. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom amazing. Breakfast was included, which was a bonus. We specially appreciated the evening drinks hour for guests in the library which enabled us to mix with other guests and swap travellers tales. The staff were charming and very helpful. They managed to get us a reservation for The French Cafe on our first night in Auckland - an experience not to be missed.

We were there on Valentine's night and booked for their special Valentine dinner. It was excellent with live music in the background.

The hotel is in a great location only 5/10 minutes walk from the waterfront and shops and other attractions such as the Auckland Tower.

It is no surprise that this is the Trip Adisor No 1 hotel in Auckland. It is a boutique hotel in the true sense and a million miles from the standard big chain offerings. If we return to Auckland we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. It was such a great start to our stay in New Zealand and set the tone for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The fit-out of this smart boutique hotel has been designed with such creative flair that it may make you want to go home and do a complete makeover! I have to start with the bathrooms - you will love the bathrooms! There are tiny black mosaic tiles, marble, divine lighting and the owner's selection of beautiful local bath products, that give such a feeling of unashamed luxe that you could be forgiven for spending much of your time in the bath! Then there are other little touches, like the salon quality hairdryers that the owner told me she had her hairdresser pick out especially for the hotel. So you can see the attention to detail here. The rooms are fun, comfortable and again luxurious - carpet that was individually designed, and again, just those little touches that make all the difference, scented oils, heavenly hotel clouds on the mattresses (even on the sofa bed mattresses made up at night, which was quite impressive). Another really nice thing about this hotel is the complimentary drinks hour that happens every evening. This is where the hotel transforms itself into a lovely lodge, for which New Zealand is so famous. You go into a warmly decorated room, hosted, and have a glass of local wine with a genial and knowledgeable staff member, often one of the owner's sons, who are happy to leave you alone to chat, or will chat with you, if you feel so inclined, nothing is too much trouble at this hotel. The reception staff were equally wonderful, and booked us a day trip and hire care for Waiheke Island, giving us great tips on which wineries to visit, where to have lunch and even mapped out walks along the beach for us all. The hotel's location is within walking distance of most of the places you will want to see in Auckland, and is also well located for a number of good restaurants, which were recommended and booked by the hotel with no problems, Prego in Ponsonby, and District Dining were both wonderful choices. We would definitely recommend Hotel de Brett. Their number one place on tripadvisor is more than well deserved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella_carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A small hotel two blocks from waterfront. Staff were always helpful and informative. The design of the hotel very unique and modern. Our room looked into a created glass covered atrium and restraurant. A drawing room offerred wine and beer before diner and a chance to socialize with other guests. Breakfast was nice

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing