We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

What a exceptional hotel. Not ever been to Auckland before and finding a location that is so central In the city was spot on.

With the subtle easy check In and be escorted around the hotel showing us where the restaurant and the drawing room then been shown to our room was just so different.

The room well appointed , so quiet , the bed so comfortable and the service by the whole team at this hotel are to be commended. Nothing was to difficult to accommodate by the team at hotel DeBrett .

Loved the turn down service provided when your out and about , coming back to your room finding the curtains drawn and the bed ready to sink into was just a Lovely touch .

Hotel DeBrett is at the top of our list for a hotel choice in Auckland. And we will be back .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
736
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Fabulous room, brilliant location and front of house went out of her way to help with a number of requests with grace and charm. My go to hotel for Auckland from now on! Bathroom was really cool and lovely products.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Location and accommodation were excellent for 2 nights to relax and explore this part of Auckland. Walking distance to the harbour, many shops, cafes and restaurants. Supremely comfortable beds, spacious, quiet and stylish room with friendly helpful staff. Stayed in a classic room with windows to the internal atrium. Internet included was very useful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yank7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is in the central business district close to everything. We were worried about street noise at first but the windows have extra soundproofing and the room was very quiet. Room was truly lovely and interesting to look at. Staff was friendly and helpful. Included breakfast was cold continental--we usually augmented it with one cooked dish that we split. Would be a five star review except that the room, beautiful as it was, was not really five stars comfort-wise. Bed was awfully soft, shower temperature was hard to adjust correctly instead of too hot or cold, and a couple other little niggles. In the larger scheme of things though, those were minor quibbles on an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I booked the loft suite for one night as a birthday surprise for my husband who had worked at the hotel in the 1980's. At breakfast the next morning we decided we couldn't bear to leave, it was just such a fabulous experience - so we stayed for another night (given our budget and the room rates not a light decision!). Everything was amazing, the front office staff were outstanding and a real credit to the hotel, the decor was gorgeous - I can see from other reviews that this might not be everyone's idea of gorgeous but even if you don't like the style you have to see that everything is so in keeping with the theme of the hotel. The room info book, the business cards, the carpet, the staff uniforms, the artwork, the whole place has a very sleek theme. Our loft suite was really cool, the bed was to die for, we slept so well both nights. The bath was a real highlight for me, I'm 5'9" and it was deep enough for me to lie back up to my neck and my feet were a good way from the end, central plug so great for two as well. I'd taken a risk not taking my trusty hair drier but instead of the usual sad hotel model I got salon quality - what a treat! I was told they also have GHDs - just in case you forget yours! The invite to have hosted pre dinner drinks in the Drawing Room was a really nice extra that was most unexpected, Michelle the owner is an absolute delight to talk to, her passion for the hotel and her guests experience while staying is clear to see. It was a great way to meet and talk to fellow guests. All in all a fabulous weekend, worth every cent. We will definitely do it again. Absolute highlight - hard to choose - it was all outstanding.

Room Tip: Loft suite is just gorgeous - so quiet you'd think the world outside had stopped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NZKB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was very excited about my stay in this boutique hotel and it was quite a treat for me.
Lovely service at check in and a lovely room. A few design flaws but no problems for one night.
And for what it is, it really is overpriced.

What got me is their lack of transparency and honesty. I was told on check in that they would 'take a print' of my card. I was not told they would put a $100 hold on my card. I was also then not told it would take so long to come back to me!

If you are going to charge a bond, you need to tell people, you also need to tell people that it can take so many days to clear. Although, after checking out and realising I was still short, to be fair, the lady did tell me it would take just overnight. But then of course it took 4 nights in total.
This was a debit plus card I gave so this made me $100 short for the rest of my trip.

I'll stick to the Hilton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very helpful staff, who were quick to provide any thing we asked for.
We were given a room upgrade, but I think I would have preferred the room that I selected which was all on one level. The split level was a bit claustrophobic.
Good central location.
The place was let down by a very average breakfast including raw egg and cold coffee.
The room was well presented but a little pokey.
Perhaps my expectations were too high after all the previous reviews?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing