We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Delightful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in early January. As our visit to Auckland was split in two parts, we actually got to stay in two different rooms. We stayed in their boutique suites. Both rooms were bright, spacious and comfortable. Bedding nice, bath linens good quality, great shower. Good storage space for suit cases and clothing as well.

Location is excellent - can walk to the ferry building in about five minutes and can walk to a number of little cafés and restaurants in five to 10 minutes but very quiet as well.

Breakfast, included in the tariff, is also good though not lavish is was sufficient and if you wanted a full breakfast, you could get it for an extra fee.

Two problems of note - first of all, as our stay was split, we ended up checking out twice and both times, items appeared on our bill that were incorrect. They did not argue when we pointed out the problem but it was a little disconcerting to have this occur both times. Secondly, we asked for a wake up call our last morning as we were catching an early flight - it came half an hour late with no apology. Good thing we had woken up on our own.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
132
719
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was the perfect place to arrive, jet-lagged and hungry, after a flight across the Pacific. The gentleman at the desk was friendly and welcoming despite the fact it was just after dawn, and an excellent breakfast was available. Miraculous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is right: the genuinely friendly, smiling welcome, the colourful original décor, the sense of luxury from the thick carpets, and the well-appointed bathrooms with good toiletries.

I want a room to be quiet, dark, and cool to sleep well: the sound deadening double windows and black out curtains ensured this. The bed is probably the comfiest I've slept in during my life to date.

The complimentary breakfast is simple but very high quality. You can order extras to make it more substantial if you like.

Hotel deBrett gives you a real sense if complete indulgence. It's a joy staying here. Unlike many other boutique hotels, which are about style over comfort, this place pulls it off on both fronts.

I very highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent a relaxing two nights here, an oasis of quality amongst the city hubbub.
Clean and fresh with very polite and helpful staff, smart options taken in decor and refreshments left us relaxed and at ease while enjoying the city surrounds.

Room Tip: If your tall; over 1.8m make sure you tell them and the continental breakfast is excellent, simple f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbsteraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

So many charming touches in this hotel from the 1960's chic decor, to the library/honor bar, to the atrium dining room with great food, to the outstanding location. Our plan had been delayed 7 hours - so we arrived at 4am, greeted warmly and left alone to sleep. Once up we did a walking tour of the city and returned for cocktails in the library. Everyone was helpful and warm. So much better than a generic hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sage_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a trip to Australia/New Zealand. At the beginning of our trip in Sydney we were booked into the Four Seasons, which couldn't compare by a mile to the awesome DeBrett at nearly half the price. At the Four Seasons you could have been anywhere in the world and not known the difference. You will never forget your stay at the DeBrett, where every one of the 25 rooms is different and interesting. Ours had a balcony overlooking the indoor dining and lounge areas. The décor is mid-century modern and everywhere you look there is something interesting to see, beginning with the mirror tile elevator. We checked in before our room was ready and they let us into the comfortable library, complete with an Apple laptop for guest's use and an honor bar. The only complaint I have is the complimentary breakfast was tiny and consisted of only cereals, rolls and fruit. I ordered the egg and bacon croissant to supplement and it was strange. The bacon was on the dry croissant and the eggs were scrambled on the side. It took a long time to come, as did the coffee, which was being prepared cup-by-cup and took ages. I hesitated to ask for a refill. The hotel is located in a nice area with lots of restaurants and little shops to choose from. I would definitely recommend the DeBrett to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed a lovely dinner and drinks at their restaurant upon arrival. The food was wonderful and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is conveniently located to bars, restaurants and the wharf. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Our breakfast in their restaurant was really good and very reasonably priced for the items we added to the complimentary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing