We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely art deco features”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely art deco features”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location in the centre of Auckland but not in a noisy street.
I loved the art deco features which had been retained in some of the public areas, and the 1950s G plan pieces of furniture were wonderful.
Our room was split level, with a living room and cloakroom on the lower level and a spiral staircase led up to a big bedroom, with a luxurious bathroom . The only problem with this arrangement was that the wardrobe, clothes storage was located on the lower level, when really you want them close to the sleeping area.
The bathroom had no where to hang towels which was a design oversight, a bamboo frame leant against the wall by the bath but was too insecure to hang heavy towels. A very interesting wall light box in the toilet!
Staff were brilliant, really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. A nice touch was the welcome drink in the library with the manager and other guests before dinner.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a lmited cold buffet which was fine. Hot options were avaialbe at extra cost.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
131
718
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Booked DeBrett because it was top of TA. And we weren't let down. Great location. No views, but then it is very well situated. Stay at the Sofitel at double the rate if you need to look over the harbour. Top rate service, thoughtful and attentive without being obsequious. Yes, breakfast is on the limited side, as mentioned by other travellers. The only negative was an element of lift noise in our room 2.2 but not intrusive enough to warrant a request to move. Arrived, having flown two 11 hour flights back to back from the UK so the bed could have been awful and we wouldn't have noticed. But day two proved it wasn't. Welcome drink with the proprietor was a nice touch each evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I cannot fault our stay at Hotel DeBrett. We had pretty high expectations, having been recommended by friends, as a place to stay to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Everything about our stay was perfect – understated, efficient, friendly service, immaculately tidy rooms, incredible room service (bed fold back pleasantly surprised us). The décor is beautiful, rooms were incredibly comfortable as well as perfectly peaceful. I recommend to all and would LOVE to visit again in the future. We had an absolutely wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking High St was wonderfully quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villahermosa, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our first stop on our honeymoon in NZ. The hotel is simply the best in town. The decor is fantastic , the rooms just divine. The restaurant OMG can't forget all the food also the bar is amazing. 100% guaranteed!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in early January. As our visit to Auckland was split in two parts, we actually got to stay in two different rooms. We stayed in their boutique suites. Both rooms were bright, spacious and comfortable. Bedding nice, bath linens good quality, great shower. Good storage space for suit cases and clothing as well.

Location is excellent - can walk to the ferry building in about five minutes and can walk to a number of little cafés and restaurants in five to 10 minutes but very quiet as well.

Breakfast, included in the tariff, is also good though not lavish is was sufficient and if you wanted a full breakfast, you could get it for an extra fee.

Two problems of note - first of all, as our stay was split, we ended up checking out twice and both times, items appeared on our bill that were incorrect. They did not argue when we pointed out the problem but it was a little disconcerting to have this occur both times. Secondly, we asked for a wake up call our last morning as we were catching an early flight - it came half an hour late with no apology. Good thing we had woken up on our own.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was the perfect place to arrive, jet-lagged and hungry, after a flight across the Pacific. The gentleman at the desk was friendly and welcoming despite the fact it was just after dawn, and an excellent breakfast was available. Miraculous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is right: the genuinely friendly, smiling welcome, the colourful original décor, the sense of luxury from the thick carpets, and the well-appointed bathrooms with good toiletries.

I want a room to be quiet, dark, and cool to sleep well: the sound deadening double windows and black out curtains ensured this. The bed is probably the comfiest I've slept in during my life to date.

The complimentary breakfast is simple but very high quality. You can order extras to make it more substantial if you like.

Hotel deBrett gives you a real sense if complete indulgence. It's a joy staying here. Unlike many other boutique hotels, which are about style over comfort, this place pulls it off on both fronts.

I very highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing