We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great alternative to the big box hotels.”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
UBE
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great alternative to the big box hotels.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The charming receptionist came out from the desk to greet us at the door. That kind of friendly, helpful service continued throughout our stay. The hotel is chic in décor and the rooms are very comfortable. Perfect location for strolling to the waterfront and people watching in this active neighborhood. Also a very good restaurant and trendy bar on site. Only complaint was a very expensive wine list with no bottle under $65.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoHahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    244
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
139
740
88
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great time at the DeBrett. Handy location. Excellent service. Restaurant and bar are quite good and the place has some style which separates it from the bigger, corporate hotels. It is a bit expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in de Brett's for two nights on the recommendation of a knowledgable friend. Unfortunately the hotel didn't deliver on the package offered and we were allocated a small suite with no external light and with internal windows that were overlooked by the restaurant and the bar in the hotel. Most disappointing was the response to any adverse comments made with advice being given that we could create more privacy by pulling blinds and curtains over the offending windows. While obviously improving our privacy it simply exacerbated the claustrophobic character of a small suite with no natural light.

Room Tip: Insist on a room or suite with external windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Our daughter insisted we stay here after we booked her and her new husband here to start off their honeymoon last year. Exactly as she had said we found the Hotel DeBrett an outstanding hotel. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and what a great idea to have pre-dinner guest drinks !! The staff were all incredibly helpful and obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Do yourself a favour and book yourself in right now. It's not cheap but it is a great choice !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaysie_kussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

great location walking distance to many restaurants bars, shops and also walking distance to ferry terminal and Auckland harbour with some great restaurants with roof top terrace.

Breakfast service, pre dinner drink and dinner service at the Hotel are okish. Breakfast offering itself is light with a lot of extra costs to get a decent one.

Reception service was great: very friendly and professional, parking service, Restaurant rec's, Beach recommendations incl. boards for the kids, Car service with child seats.

Room was very stylish but not a lot of space.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the loft sweets for the weekend & also had dinner and breakfast.
Outstanding service, room, food over all a amazing weekend.
I spent a lot of time looking for a special place to stay and eat, certainty found it here.
I spent many hours looking online and reading reviews some of the Top 50 this and that for Auckland only to read bad reviews for the venue written with the last few weeks.
My job takes my around the world and this is up there with best places I've stayed.

Thanks Hotel DeBrett

Room Tip: The loft room is worth the extra $$ for that bit more of a special feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel the moment we got to the reception: a nice old building elegantly renovated with lots of personality. The rooms are originally decorated but still elegant, we loved the black tiled big bathroom. The common areas have an earthy, inviting home feeling. Breakfast was included and very good. The location is superbe, right in the center but in a small quiet street, next to a pedestrian area.
The staff were helpful AND cheerful. There is all round room service, although the quality of the food was not great. Maybe the only room for improvement

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing