We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We only stayed one night at the De Brett upon our arrival in NZ, but wished that we had stayed longer as we loved this hotel. Excellent location in the centre of Auckland, great restaurant, lovely room & really interesting décor. We will definitely return & stay longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterMariner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
735
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifully designed little hotel in a fantastic location in Auckland. If you're a mid-century modern design enthusiast like me you will be in heaven! This hotel is well worth the money in comparison to other Auckland hotels. The service and food were wonderful and the room was gorgeous and super comfy. The whole property is also impeccably clean. Only complaint is the early check out time of 10am, which they graciously extended to 11 for us. I also wish they had an in-site fitness center but they do offer access to a club nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JandCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Debrett and it was an absolute delight. We were on a stopover from Vancouver to Australia and arrived early in the morning. We had secured the room for the previous night so everything was ready for us despite the early hour. They got us right into our room which had a great bed and a wonderful bathroom setup.
The complimentary continental breakfast was great. Fresh made pastries, fruit and amazing coffee
done any way you wanted it.
the hotel is done in a renovated heritage building and the architecture is beautiful. The huge atrium over the restaurant is bright and airy, and the casual yet funky feel of the hotel is a breath of fresh air.
Highly recommended for anyone's trip to Auckland.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Jr. Suite and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, IL, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Hotel DeBrett. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, recommending and booking dinners, helping with our daily itineraries, providing directions, and valeting our car. I loved the decor and the rooms, especially the bar and the dining room. I wanted a hotel with character and charm and this met the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one short night but the welcome was warm and helped us acclimate on our arrival. Great location close to all the sights, shops and restaurants. Beautiful modern designs. Great restaurant with live music and nice, simple menu with a free cocktail if you arrive early in the evening. Valet parking was convenient. Only watch out is limits to wifi access. We ran out quickly without being able to download our emails.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VM_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A great boutique hotel with a stunning interior. The food in the restuarant was of a very high quality and with the standard of service to match. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Auckland and this hotel. I would have no hesitation in recommending hotel debrett for business or pleasure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rgreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was pleased with my choice to stay at this hotel because it is centrally located and within walking distance to the harbor, tons of restaurants, and stores. My room, the boutique suite was very spacious and quiet although it is on the street side of the hotel. I’m used to more traditional styled hotels, but enjoyed the art deco furnishings. Breakfast was included and it was basic not extensive continental-muffins, croissants, tea, cereal, yogurt and juice. To get more variety to eat for breakfast, you have to order off the menu. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and general directions. The hotel hosts a happy hour in the library from 5 pm where you can meet and chat with other guests if you choose to. I would stay here again when I am in Auckland, and will definitely ask for a room facing the street for a more interesting view and natural light as opposed to what the rooms facing the internal courtyard/restaurant offer.

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing the street side. There is hardly any noise from the street and you get the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing