We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel with Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hotel DeBrett was a charming, clean and newly-renovated hotel. Modern conveniences and a spectacular restaurant are nestled above this bustling city street lobby. I would highly recommend the Hotel DeBrett whether you are in Auckland for a long stay or just a night. The staff is INCREDIBLY nice and helpful. And the cocktail hour didn't hurt either!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaycee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well, we sure lucked out choosing this hotel (with help from TA).
They were great communicating before we arrived, making appointments and being responsive to all my questions, and while we were there for three nights, they were very helpful in every way.
The final day, when I called to ask where I could buy bubble wrap, they gave it to us-something I'd never seen before.
Also, we had free WiFi and whenever our password would rn out, they would run up a new one to our room.
Breakfast was also very nice.
Great location.
I would say this is the best for service and cleanliness!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We only stayed one night at the De Brett upon our arrival in NZ, but wished that we had stayed longer as we loved this hotel. Excellent location in the centre of Auckland, great restaurant, lovely room & really interesting décor. We will definitely return & stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterMariner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifully designed little hotel in a fantastic location in Auckland. If you're a mid-century modern design enthusiast like me you will be in heaven! This hotel is well worth the money in comparison to other Auckland hotels. The service and food were wonderful and the room was gorgeous and super comfy. The whole property is also impeccably clean. Only complaint is the early check out time of 10am, which they graciously extended to 11 for us. I also wish they had an in-site fitness center but they do offer access to a club nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JandCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Debrett and it was an absolute delight. We were on a stopover from Vancouver to Australia and arrived early in the morning. We had secured the room for the previous night so everything was ready for us despite the early hour. They got us right into our room which had a great bed and a wonderful bathroom setup.
The complimentary continental breakfast was great. Fresh made pastries, fruit and amazing coffee
done any way you wanted it.
the hotel is done in a renovated heritage building and the architecture is beautiful. The huge atrium over the restaurant is bright and airy, and the casual yet funky feel of the hotel is a breath of fresh air.
Highly recommended for anyone's trip to Auckland.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Jr. Suite and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Hotel DeBrett. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, recommending and booking dinners, helping with our daily itineraries, providing directions, and valeting our car. I loved the decor and the rooms, especially the bar and the dining room. I wanted a hotel with character and charm and this met the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one short night but the welcome was warm and helped us acclimate on our arrival. Great location close to all the sights, shops and restaurants. Beautiful modern designs. Great restaurant with live music and nice, simple menu with a free cocktail if you arrive early in the evening. Valet parking was convenient. Only watch out is limits to wifi access. We ran out quickly without being able to download our emails.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VM_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £181 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing