We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night of luxury”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful night of luxury”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at hotel DeBrett for a luxury overnight experience on a week night. The room was magnificent - the mid-century furniture provides a unique experience. The staff were fabulous - professional and attentive. For our meal in DeBrett's kitchen, we loved the food, the ambience, and the service was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an original and very special night out in Auckland City.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    241
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
732
84
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From our arrival until check out the level of service we received was superb. The interiors are warm and inviting and the suite had everything to make it a perfect stay.
A special thank you to Rachel, Scarlett, Olivia and Sante for going above and beyond. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Funky little hotel, very well done over, great and modern rooms in an "old" hotel space. Great people, very central. Good value. Are returning for an overnight on our way home from Perth. Would definitely recommend to any couple. Also good for business travelers. Kinnaman's of Savannah. Keep doing what you are doing Michele and partner.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I can't really fault this place. We stayed here for two nights whilst in Auckland. The fitout is excellent and leaves nothing to be desired (except maybe a view). It has a nice eclectic feel making it very different to your usual hotel.

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We were escorted to our room which is a nice touch. The room had an excellent sized bath and the shower was amazing. The bed was comfy and they have a pillow menu.

I agree with previous reviews about breakfast - it is a tad on the skimpy side but fine if you don't have high expectations. We also ate at the restaurant which that night had live jazz playing. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Highly recommend Hotel Debrett

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just spent 3 nights here in a loft suite. I love hotels with strong themes and this certainly does mid-century modern very well. The bed is possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in (I was tempted to strip it to find its brand!). The staff were friendly but not gushy - which I like. The position is perfect with lots of good restaurants around. We ate at the hotel one night - very good menu and the food matched. Continental breakfast (which was included in the room tariff) wasn't that impressive so we ordered poached eggs on toast. When you compare the meals - value for money for dinner far outweighed the value for breakfast. My only criticism (and it's my problem), we were in a suite that overlooked the restaurant. No views outside the hotel and whenever you were in the room, you felt it necessary to draw the curtains leaving me feel a bit claustrophobic. Would I stay there again - definitely (if I could be guaranteed a room with a street view).

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room with a window facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There are so many great things about H de B that it almost seems churlish to highlight the areas of shortfall. However if these were remedied it would go from "good" to "great" overall. The in room bathroom products are just downright inadequate and it grates to have to pay to supplement their inadequacy. At the prices charged it is disappointing to pay extra for a hot breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel DeBrett is a wonderful, stylish hotel. It has spacious, modern rooms. My husband and I went for one night and absolutely loved everything about our stay. We started with a cocktail at the housebar, had a drink in the drawing room then dinner at DeBrett Kitchen. The next morning we had the complimentary continental breakfast which was excellent as well. All in all a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShoeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing