We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great hotel with attention to every little detail. Nicely furnished. Very comfortable beds. Quiet rooms. Great location within walking distance of the best of the CBD. The staff was very helpful. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was very much looking forward to my two-night stay here and it didn't disappoint.
I chose this hotel based upon its reputation and style.
The mid-century and Art Deco features are very nicely represented with quality furniture and fixtures.
I stayed in room 2.9 with an interior facing window.

Pleasing:
Wifi included in the room rate. Too many hotels try to skimp on this. I appreciate it's inclusion.
Fantastic bath! The entire bathroom is superb and well appointed.
Complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee were of a nice quality.
Location is perfect.
Continental breakfast is nutritious, delicious and plentiful.
Room service (used once) was speedy, delicious and priced fairly.
My room was peaceful and very quiet. I never heard anyone in the corridor.

Didn't work for me:
The bed. Way too soft for me. In the morning there was a huge hollow in the bed where I felt stuck in!
Hanging space was too short to hang a dress in the otherwise very stylish and functional standalone funky unit.
The provided toiletries are in teensy bottles that are very hard to get out. I had to mutilate the bottles to squeeze out the thicker products.

I would happily recommend HDB and would like to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at hotel DeBrett for a luxury overnight experience on a week night. The room was magnificent - the mid-century furniture provides a unique experience. The staff were fabulous - professional and attentive. For our meal in DeBrett's kitchen, we loved the food, the ambience, and the service was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an original and very special night out in Auckland City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From our arrival until check out the level of service we received was superb. The interiors are warm and inviting and the suite had everything to make it a perfect stay.
A special thank you to Rachel, Scarlett, Olivia and Sante for going above and beyond. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Funky little hotel, very well done over, great and modern rooms in an "old" hotel space. Great people, very central. Good value. Are returning for an overnight on our way home from Perth. Would definitely recommend to any couple. Also good for business travelers. Kinnaman's of Savannah. Keep doing what you are doing Michele and partner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I can't really fault this place. We stayed here for two nights whilst in Auckland. The fitout is excellent and leaves nothing to be desired (except maybe a view). It has a nice eclectic feel making it very different to your usual hotel.

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We were escorted to our room which is a nice touch. The room had an excellent sized bath and the shower was amazing. The bed was comfy and they have a pillow menu.

I agree with previous reviews about breakfast - it is a tad on the skimpy side but fine if you don't have high expectations. We also ate at the restaurant which that night had live jazz playing. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Highly recommend Hotel Debrett

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just spent 3 nights here in a loft suite. I love hotels with strong themes and this certainly does mid-century modern very well. The bed is possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in (I was tempted to strip it to find its brand!). The staff were friendly but not gushy - which I like. The position is perfect with lots of good restaurants around. We ate at the hotel one night - very good menu and the food matched. Continental breakfast (which was included in the room tariff) wasn't that impressive so we ordered poached eggs on toast. When you compare the meals - value for money for dinner far outweighed the value for breakfast. My only criticism (and it's my problem), we were in a suite that overlooked the restaurant. No views outside the hotel and whenever you were in the room, you felt it necessary to draw the curtains leaving me feel a bit claustrophobic. Would I stay there again - definitely (if I could be guaranteed a room with a street view).

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room with a window facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £199 - £1,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing