We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and excellent staff”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and excellent staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel DeBrett is that wonderful combination of everything you'd want in a hotel combined with peerless staff. From the moment you enter you feel like one of the family. They remember your name and, without ever being intrusive, can't do enough for you. The rooms are, in my view, just about perfect. Perfect bathrooms, linen, tables, chairs and lamps. The style is mid-century but there are softening touches so that the decoration never looks sparse.
I only had breakfast in the dining room and this was faultless. Drinks are served in the Drawing Room and, if you are on your own, you won't be for long. The atmosphere is wonderfully convivial and you're sure to meet someone from the US, India, Ireland, Spain, the UK and, of course, Australia and NZ. Top marks to the owners of this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    241
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
732
84
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Haven't stayed here in the past as the hotel looks a bit underwhelming from the street. How wrong we were!
Very well located for shopping and restaurants.
The furnishings are eclectic and tastefully modern.
The predominantly 1960's style furniture is cool, particularly some excellent Scandinavian pieces.
Nice sized room with very good bathroom.
Free wifi is appreciated but could include more than one device.
The complimentary breakfast was fine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank allblacks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I loved the Hotel DeBrett! The building itself had so much charm, and although fully renovated and redecorated, the integrity of the original hotel remained. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Michelle in the Drawing room gathering with complimentary drinks. We met other guests as well and it really added to our personal experience. The bar and atrium were perfect for a drink and the bar tender was diligent in not only his drink making (perfection!) but gave us and our friends some great ideas for dinner. The front desk staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We were personally shown to our room and given a quick tutorial of all the goodies. The bathroom was spectacular and dramatic (probably my favorite part) and the room decor was quirky and inviting. We had a great nights sleep....so much so we missed the complimentary breakfast! If you are ever in Auckland its a must stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyM912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you are bored of hotel chains, stay here. It hasn't got great views or a breakfast buffet to defeat hordes of the starving, but it is a very cute and quirky hotel in a great downtown location with very friendly and helpful staff. My room was a suite (perhaps they all are - I didn't pay any extra), with a proper living room which was great for working. Decent wifi. Very good poached eggs at breakfast. I didn't have time to try the bar or complimentary cocktails, but as a working base it is super and I am sure for a leisure break it would be even better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywa5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great hotel with attention to every little detail. Nicely furnished. Very comfortable beds. Quiet rooms. Great location within walking distance of the best of the CBD. The staff was very helpful. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was very much looking forward to my two-night stay here and it didn't disappoint.
I chose this hotel based upon its reputation and style.
The mid-century and Art Deco features are very nicely represented with quality furniture and fixtures.
I stayed in room 2.9 with an interior facing window.

Pleasing:
Wifi included in the room rate. Too many hotels try to skimp on this. I appreciate it's inclusion.
Fantastic bath! The entire bathroom is superb and well appointed.
Complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee were of a nice quality.
Location is perfect.
Continental breakfast is nutritious, delicious and plentiful.
Room service (used once) was speedy, delicious and priced fairly.
My room was peaceful and very quiet. I never heard anyone in the corridor.

Didn't work for me:
The bed. Way too soft for me. In the morning there was a huge hollow in the bed where I felt stuck in!
Hanging space was too short to hang a dress in the otherwise very stylish and functional standalone funky unit.
The provided toiletries are in teensy bottles that are very hard to get out. I had to mutilate the bottles to squeeze out the thicker products.

I would happily recommend HDB and would like to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at hotel DeBrett for a luxury overnight experience on a week night. The room was magnificent - the mid-century furniture provides a unique experience. The staff were fabulous - professional and attentive. For our meal in DeBrett's kitchen, we loved the food, the ambience, and the service was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an original and very special night out in Auckland City.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing