We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best night's sleep in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“best night's sleep in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Htoel DeBrett is particularly stylish and the service we recieved was magnificent. from the valet parking to the reception and particularly the bar staff, the experience was superb. however, the best bit was the bed! the best night's sleep i've had in ages when staying away from home. go for the style and the service and stay for the sleep!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    229
    69
    21
    11
See reviews for
129
709
82
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at Hotel DeBrett for two nights in June, and were looking forward to our stay in one of Auckland’s most highly rated boutique hotels. Our room was very stylish and well appointed, and the bathroom was also furnished to a very high standard. A slight downside was the mini-bar, which displayed no prices or inventory: no matter what the price point, clients will always wish to know how much they are spending! The room aside there were some unfortunate inconsistencies in terms of staffing and service. Having stayed in numerous properties in NZ during the preceding two weeks by way of comparison, the majority of staff at DeBrett seemed pretty clueless, and lacked any real warmth and charm, with the sharp exception of Jim the porter, and his concierge colleague working that particular weekend, who seemed to be the only staff that really cared about all guests. This seemed to extend to the bar, where I don’t think we could have been treated in a more causal, unwelcoming way when paying a quick visit one evening. Obviously De Brett is marketing itself as a hip, smart establishment, and does go some way to realising this, but such an attempted branding does not give desk and bar staff free licence to not care about the customer service experience. I would put some of these issues down to poor staff communication/training (for example, I was not even given a copy of my final room account when checking out) and whilst we found aspects of our stay enjoyable, we would most likely try different accommodation when next in Auckland, as for the price range De Brett is currently at, there are other establishments that I believe would try harder.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at this chic, modern and uber-stylish hotel located in the heart of Auckland's city centre. The hotel suite we were given was suitably large and luxuriously bedecked with eclectic furnishings. The glass-roofed atrium within the hotel was a pleasant surpise and was a perfect meeting place for our friends. The staff were very friendly and professional. All in all, we highly recommed this one-of-a-kind boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

My new husband and I stayed at the new Hotel DeBretts in High St, Auckland, New Zealand last week. We stayed 2 nights and also had a function to celebrate our wedding.
The hotel was not only absolutely beautifully renovated and fitted out, but the staff were incredible. They went above and beyond in terms of service and attention. The price was very reasonable, and it's in the best part of Auckland city, with loads of shops and cafes around.
The food was amazing, and the staff ran backwards and forwards with supplies for my wedding day all day long! They never once looked put out or annoyed, and even sent us flowers to congratulate us.

I cannot recommend this hotel any higher, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
Thank emmamarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Small intimate and 'clubby' is how we would describe it - small enought to be boutique and big enough to be buzzy. Location uncomparable for life in the inner city. The thought put into the decor and rooms has obviously been one of concentration and passion and it shows. If you are in to that special atmosphere of boutique hotels, that is chatting with other guests and possibly owners, then this is your place in Auckland. If you want to be faceless or vanilla go to the big hotel where you don't have to particpate.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is a stylish oasis in the middle of Auckland; an old hotel that's been totally upgraded and it's now a boutique luxury hotel, with enchanting rooms, and excellent service. The location is terrific, right in the heart of Auckland. Real effort has gone into the refurbishment, including carpets woven in India (of New Zealand wool). Everything has been carefully thought through...it's a terrific place to stay, especially if you're sick of impersonal international chain hotels. Perfect place for a romantic stay, a business trip or anything else actually.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

There are a handful of amazing hotels in the world this is one of them. A fantastic mix of Urban modern chic, and eclectic mod, and Deco.... Service is fantastic, bath room is huge, and indulgent, electrical outlets in abundance, and where you need them, and Jacobsen Swan chairs next to the art deco works.... Feana (Buenos Aires), Greulich (Zurich), Rivington (NYC), The James (Chicago).... and now DeBrett (Auckland).... Of Course not one owner, but certainly of the same intention.... cool

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing