We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in...”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in...”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Where to start... This is a seriously cool hotel, the rooms are brilliant - we stayed in a standard room, but it was incredibly decorated, and completely luxurious - no expense spared and massive attention to detail. The staff were helpful and friendly in every way - Michelle, the owner, gave a drinks reception in their drawing room on our first night, and she was regularly around in the hotel and really interested in her guests. The location is spot on - right in the middle of town, just off Queen street, and a short walk from the Viaduct, all the major shops and the sky tower. The food is great, the bar is well stocked with great staff who seriously know their wine. Probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riocalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
735
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Hotel DeBrett will go down in my books as one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Super cool place with a super cool vibe.

We booked a Boutique suite for NZ 390. 4 months later, I noticed they had a deal where those who now booked a Classic Room (NZ 290) would automatically be bumped to a Boutique Suite if available. I asked if we could either pay only 290 for our suite or be bumped up to a Loft Suite (NZ 590). They actually said we could do either, which is amazing! We ended up going with the Boutique Suite and saving $100 a night! It was great that they allowed that - very good service!

The room was wonderful, with special touches throughout! I would describe the decor as funky 50s with a luxurious feel. My favorite was the bathroom which had black small circle tiles throughout and a deep bathtub. (When I sat in it, the top rim went to my chin!) It also had a decent sized shower with large rain shower head. It is a top 5 bathroom for sure!!

Now, I never comment on the Cleaning People, but they would do the cutest things everyday. One day, when I emptied out my entire toiletry case, the cleaning lady arranged them all on the sink in a semi-artsy way. I even had to take a picture! Artistic Cleaning Women! Awesome!

One evening, we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant on Ponsonby Rd. The receptionist said she would ask the chefs. Later coming to find us (they found us snacking in the incredible atrium area) was the dining manager to give us some recos. Not only did he consult with us our style and what we expected, he also printed out menus for us. We ended up going to SPQR - awesome meal!

Above, I mentioned the cool atrium space connected to the restaurant and bar. But there is also a Library with Honesty Bar! We hung out in there reading and listening to Records! It was really cool to play The Police or Madonna on vinyl. It was so cool in fact, we decided to get the exact same record player at home!

One thing we were kind of bummed about was that there was free breakfast daily, something we didn't discover until the last day. The staff wasn't great at explaining all the wonderful inclusions. We did have the breakfast on the last day and it was great. Everything was delicious.

Lastly, the location is phenomenal right on cute High St. High St has great restaurants and cafes and is only 1 block from the busy Queen St and a less than 10 minutes walk to both the Sky Tower and the Viaduct Quay.

Other than SPQR on Ponsonby Rd., Vivace on High St (1 min from the hotel) was absolutely wonderful for food and drinking. Especially wine! These are both highly recommended!

Hotel DeBrett is where you should stay if you want to be right in the old town area and live in style! If in Auckland again, I would definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbumatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We would definately recommend Hotel De Brett for a relaxing inner city stay.
Even though you are in the heart of the city, the hotel is quiet and feels like an inner city sanctuary which wouldnt be out of place in Europe.
The rooms are spacious, staff are friendly and helpful and the bed is like a cocoon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chica023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

My short stay at DeBrett was exceptional. The staff were courteous and efficient, the rooms were created with a great designer's eye and the location was very central, but still very quiet.

I loved that continental breakfast and wireless internet were included with the rate, so there were no surprises with the bill.

I couldn't hope for a better stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This hotel is really amazing! It is nicely decorated, I just love the carpet! They have a special room, only for inhouse guests, with DVD and books and Macbook. It is centrally located and nearby the Waterfront. If you stay in Auckland, then you have to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed at Hotel DeBrett during the final night of a three week holiday with my fiancé. The whole hotel is very intimate and cosy. Furniture and decor are top notch. Breakfast buffet was brilliant with lovely freshly baked scones and muffins (still warm from the oven). Friendly and efficient service. The drawing room (lounge for hotel residents) was just like stepping into my grandfathers old apartment. A wide range of books, magazines, DVD's and CD:s are available. The honesty bar stocks a small but carefully selected range of wine, beer and spirits. I enjoyed a glass of fantastic NZ Pinot Noir prior to going out for dinner. Rooms are very quiet during the night despite location in busy downtown Auckland. Rooms are of very generous size and bathroom size is also well proportioned. Only downsides were a faulty floor light that housekeeping should have identified before us checking in. Complimentary internet access is also not unlimited as claimed by reception staff (limited to 1GB transfer).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Starbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Hotel DeBrett was the first stop of our month long trip to NZ & Australia. A fabulous way to start a vacation. From the moment we arrived, we were totally looked after by all of the staff of the hotel. We were given a tour of the hotel as well and our room also was ready when we checked in mid morning from an overnight flight from LA. We were always greeted with smiles and treated with utmost courtesy, warmth and respect. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The decor of the hotel is very colorful, very cool and very comfortable. Even tho our room was on the street side, we had absolutely no problem with any street noise, which made us very happy. We enjoyed the live entertainment on Sunday night and the priveledge of having the use of the drawing room. We were even served dessert there while checking our emails. Our only disappointment was that we did not have dinner in the restaurant, we made the mistake of going out for 2 of our evenings and looking back we know we would have had a very good meal there. Eddie and Jim were wonderful at the front door and Sandrine and Evangelina were always a pleasure to see in the dining room in the morning. We were totally spoiled by our stay here, we sincerely hated to leave. Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigeo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing