We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - what else can I say?”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional - what else can I say?”
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our NZ holiday - well, what a start, this was the very best hotel of the lot! I would love to smuggle that bed home in my suitcase - normally hate hotels beds, but had the best sleep on this one - I could not believe it. We stayed in a fantastic 'Classic Room' which was very roomy & comfortable (and we are fussy). Beautiful bathroom, quality fittings and accessories, and everything spotlessly clean. The decor is truly amazing - down to every detail. Very good location, close to wharf & Skytower. Great little cafes round the corner in Vulcan Lane too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
734
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Great location, no view from rooms other than offices opposite so must be dressed the whole time whilst in the room. The closet space is tiny, a double closet half of which is given over to the mini bar and kettle the other half split into two spaces so no full length hanging. My husband was furious the room was so small and I wished that I had taken the larger option. We did enjoy the residents bar, free internet and breakfast though. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown shopping area. We enjoyed a lovely evening at a restaurants called Mollies, the owner used to teach Opera in NY and now had opening a school adjoining the hotel and every evening around 8pm puts on a wonder ful recital. I hear Clinton stays there when in Auckland. Also worth exploring is the harbour, we took a boat to Waikeke Island (1hr) and ate at one of the vineyards there. The hotel will arrange and you must organise the taxi to pick you up but a wonderful thing to do if you have a day spare. Quite a young hotel with laid back staff etc .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We were booked in the DeBrett for our first night in NZ and enjoyed our stay so much we booked for another night at the end of our trip. The styling of the hotel is fantastic, and the design of the rooms gave us plenty of ideas for our own place. If you can avoid room 1.2 do so as that's where we stayed our second night - it's slightly smaller and gets a very small amount of noise through the wall from the lift.

The other reviews have largely said it all on the hotel. Had a look at the (very few) less complimentary reviews. I'd agree the rooms that we stayed in don't have great views. The service however was fantastic throughout - exactly the right balance of professional and friendly - nothing seemed like too much trouble, even when we constantly changed our mind on when we'd like the car from valet parking (NZ$20/nights).

The location is very central, although we found Auckland itself a bit disappointing - particularly having visited Sydney immediately beforehand.

Great location, great rooms, great service, and a free drink in the evening - what more could you want.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We arrived into Auckland absolutely shattered after flying from Perth with our nearly 1yo son. We were whisked up to our suite where everything was as ordered - the little boys cot (a good one - not the usual rickety travel sort) was ready to go and down to sleep he went. Our bed was a delight - big fan of the feather underlays - and we woke later much refreshed. We ordered something to eat - mainly for sustenance rather than being desparately hungry and were treated to a quality, easy meal above expectations and perked us up no end. We had arranged to meet some friends for drinks (what were we thinking?) and they found their way to the hotel bar. Our babysitter had earlier knocked on the door to introduce herself - our friends were running late and we wanted to put her off for an hour - "no problem, just call when you want me" was the response. The bar staff were great - our friends (locals) had planned to take us out but we were so happy where we were - good place to talk rather than be buffeted in a noisy bar - we stayed to late.

But it was the next day they really excelled - Avis had mucked up our car request and after stonewalling for an hour relented but told me that the car could be exchanged for one at the airport (we were in the city) - I could do it myself or wait until 3pm - maybe. So I went to airport - it took one and half hours round trip. It was already after 12noon (our late checkout time) - my partner was left juggling our unpacked luggage and the now less-than-happy 1yo. The hotel staff came to the rescue and their empathy and understanding helped enormously.

The hotel is in a funky part of Auckland. It is close to all sights. There aren't any real views and it is an old refurbished hotel and the rooms may seem small to others but the quality makes the stay all worthwhile. We loved it and would highly recommend it. This is the first review that I have ever written (although I found Hotel DeBrett on tripadvisor) and am only writing it because they really deserve a pat on the back for their service and friendliness.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at the Hotel DeBrett from February 14 - 17, 2010 and were blown away with the personal service and amenities offered by this property. From the owner, Jonathan to all his excellent staff throughout the hotel, everything was perfect. From the perfect "heavenly" bed, to the spa like bathroom, the cute House Bar, the friendly staff in the restaurant, to having someone ask you how your day was on return, or how could they help you experience the day. The hotel is in an excellent location. Walking distantce to restaurants and the ferry. Our rate included breakfast and a free nightly drink in their private guest room. This hotel knows how to service their guests. We enjoyed it so much we came back to stay another night at the hotel before our return to Vancouver on February 28.

Thanks again to Jonathan and his team for making our stay in Auckland such a pleasureable experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghaleVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Simply put, this is one of the best hotel experiences I've had. Starting with checkin, the staff was helpful and friendly without being overbearing. They gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us directly to our room, which was lovely. There is an atrium with a glass ceiling and a lot of really unique glasswork (all chosen by the owner, Michelle) all over the hotel, which really captured the mid-summer light of Auckland so well. The owner was friendly and along with the rest of the staff made sure we had all of the information we needed and knew where we were going. The location is excellent -- walking distance to a lot of Auckland sights as well as the ferry terminal and harbor area. Check out their website for good deals -- we stayed in a boutique room and got a reasonable rate including breakfast and a drink. Worth every penny and then some!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weendiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My stay in this beautiful little hotel made Auckland for me. I loved the considered design - from the architectural cleverness of the conversion of the original building right down to the smallest details of the materials, finishes and inclusions - all put together with wit and discernment and a very particular style. The warm welcome and discrete friendly service made the whole experience one I would like to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing