We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed hotel, great location and service”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at Hotel de Brett with a last minute booking as our flight to Argentina was canceled due to the Chile earthquake. It was the first night of our honeymoon so we wanted somewhere a bit special...and special it was!! We absolutely loved the design of the building, furniture, decor etc..someone has really thought about every last detail! The service was brilliant and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We made good use of the library and the internet as we tried to reorganise our trip! The location was perfect for exploring Auckland with some good bars, cafes and the waterfront all close by. Our only issue was with the bed, whilst all the linen was lovely and of a very high quality, we found the bed itself to be very soft and both woke feeling a little sore. Could just be personal preference though.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a classy and boutique hotel experience in Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatrockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed here our first two nights in New Zealand after a long flight from San Francisco. The bed was so wonderful, it was hard to get up and out! Our room overlooked the atrium which is a very cool space. There are double doors to the balcony to keep out noise but since we liked their choice of music, we often kept the doors open. We had all our luggage for a month's stay and there was plenty of room. The continental breakfast is superb. Lots of fresh fruit, freshly baked goods, yogurt, cereals etc. And really good coffee. The is staff wonderful. The location right down town is great if you don't have a car to worry about. Truly a perfect way to begin a trip and enjoy downtown Auckland. And those beds! We actually came home and bought ourselves a new mattress!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

What a great experience - Spend that little more on your room if you can - I was sharing with a friend and we had a wonderful 2 storey room with a spiral staircase, heavenly bathroom, separate cloakroom on the sitting room floor, 2 plasma screens and cosmically comfortable twin beds! (we even had a sofa bed downstairs, so one of us could escape when the other snored!).
The hotel is right in the heart of all the really good bits of Auckland - quirky little boutiques, wonderful cafes and restaurants and lots of things to do and see.
The restaurant and bar are set in this wonderful glass atrium, so you get all the benefits of sitting outside, but can enjoy the sun and the stars in all weather. Just wish I could get to Auckland more often!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizzletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our NZ holiday - well, what a start, this was the very best hotel of the lot! I would love to smuggle that bed home in my suitcase - normally hate hotels beds, but had the best sleep on this one - I could not believe it. We stayed in a fantastic 'Classic Room' which was very roomy & comfortable (and we are fussy). Beautiful bathroom, quality fittings and accessories, and everything spotlessly clean. The decor is truly amazing - down to every detail. Very good location, close to wharf & Skytower. Great little cafes round the corner in Vulcan Lane too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Great location, no view from rooms other than offices opposite so must be dressed the whole time whilst in the room. The closet space is tiny, a double closet half of which is given over to the mini bar and kettle the other half split into two spaces so no full length hanging. My husband was furious the room was so small and I wished that I had taken the larger option. We did enjoy the residents bar, free internet and breakfast though. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown shopping area. We enjoyed a lovely evening at a restaurants called Mollies, the owner used to teach Opera in NY and now had opening a school adjoining the hotel and every evening around 8pm puts on a wonder ful recital. I hear Clinton stays there when in Auckland. Also worth exploring is the harbour, we took a boat to Waikeke Island (1hr) and ate at one of the vineyards there. The hotel will arrange and you must organise the taxi to pick you up but a wonderful thing to do if you have a day spare. Quite a young hotel with laid back staff etc .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We were booked in the DeBrett for our first night in NZ and enjoyed our stay so much we booked for another night at the end of our trip. The styling of the hotel is fantastic, and the design of the rooms gave us plenty of ideas for our own place. If you can avoid room 1.2 do so as that's where we stayed our second night - it's slightly smaller and gets a very small amount of noise through the wall from the lift.

The other reviews have largely said it all on the hotel. Had a look at the (very few) less complimentary reviews. I'd agree the rooms that we stayed in don't have great views. The service however was fantastic throughout - exactly the right balance of professional and friendly - nothing seemed like too much trouble, even when we constantly changed our mind on when we'd like the car from valet parking (NZ$20/nights).

The location is very central, although we found Auckland itself a bit disappointing - particularly having visited Sydney immediately beforehand.

Great location, great rooms, great service, and a free drink in the evening - what more could you want.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We arrived into Auckland absolutely shattered after flying from Perth with our nearly 1yo son. We were whisked up to our suite where everything was as ordered - the little boys cot (a good one - not the usual rickety travel sort) was ready to go and down to sleep he went. Our bed was a delight - big fan of the feather underlays - and we woke later much refreshed. We ordered something to eat - mainly for sustenance rather than being desparately hungry and were treated to a quality, easy meal above expectations and perked us up no end. We had arranged to meet some friends for drinks (what were we thinking?) and they found their way to the hotel bar. Our babysitter had earlier knocked on the door to introduce herself - our friends were running late and we wanted to put her off for an hour - "no problem, just call when you want me" was the response. The bar staff were great - our friends (locals) had planned to take us out but we were so happy where we were - good place to talk rather than be buffeted in a noisy bar - we stayed to late.

But it was the next day they really excelled - Avis had mucked up our car request and after stonewalling for an hour relented but told me that the car could be exchanged for one at the airport (we were in the city) - I could do it myself or wait until 3pm - maybe. So I went to airport - it took one and half hours round trip. It was already after 12noon (our late checkout time) - my partner was left juggling our unpacked luggage and the now less-than-happy 1yo. The hotel staff came to the rescue and their empathy and understanding helped enormously.

The hotel is in a funky part of Auckland. It is close to all sights. There aren't any real views and it is an old refurbished hotel and the rooms may seem small to others but the quality makes the stay all worthwhile. We loved it and would highly recommend it. This is the first review that I have ever written (although I found Hotel DeBrett on tripadvisor) and am only writing it because they really deserve a pat on the back for their service and friendliness.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £181 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing