We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

How lovely it was to be back in this hotel - especially those wonderful individually styled rooms, the great service and re-visiting that brilliant restaurant atrium. I'm only sorry I could not stay longer this time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    241
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
732
84
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Rooms are good. Nice bathrooms, modern design. Hotel is good overall and everything is clean. Breakfast options are not too generous but good enough. Good location if you want to walk downtown or take ferries..central.
It's a little expensive for what you pay but it's nice.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Wow! My wife and I stayed here in December of 2010 only for one night, but what an experience! As soon as we walked in the door we were greeted with a huge smile by the female owner, and given great service and advice about Auckland. The room was AMAZING. That's the only word I could think of when I walked through the door. At breakfast the staff greeted us and sat us instantly. The young waiter even pulled my chair out for me, went out of his way to cater to our specific needs and gave great advice about Auckland. Impressed I assumed he had worked there for a number of years but had only been there a month so I was well impressed with that. When we checked out the receptionist was fabulous as was everything about this hotel! We ARE SO COMING BACK!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor_chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Booked to stay here for New Years Eve 2010 for one night only following recommendation from the Lonely Planet Guide.
I approached the reception desk to one male member of staff standing and resting his head on his hand, and no acknowledgment at all or smile. The lady was more responsive. Room and facilities were excellent, as were pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room once we located it ourselves.
Bed massively comfy.
We went down to the breakfast room at 9am and there were 3 members of staff milling around, no-one acknowledged us here either so we sat down and helped ourselves to the continental breakfast. We had to ask a young miserable looking chap for 2 coffees and when we did so he did not raise his (most likely hungover but no excuse) eyes from the computer screen. With a grunt he brought them over. We observed other guests getting the same inadequate service.
The hotel management should not employ people like this. They blatantly don't give a damn.
Great hotel and location but experience spoiled by most imporrtant element - customer services.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moleenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2010

This is a great boutique hotel in downtown Auckland. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We were in a corner room and it was spacious with a deep tub and lots of natural light. The restaurant is a super funky room created at the intersection of two buildings. We didn't eat lunch or dinner there, but it was a great place for the free continental breakfast. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Also, this hotel is around the corner from the Europcar rental office and had access to a gym down the street.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed here for just one night in November having just got into Auckland from Hong Kong.

This hotel is excellent. We had a great experience from check-in through to the room which had both a bedroom and a separate sitting area and a fantastic bathroom. We also had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the food (and service) were fantastic.

I'd have happily stayed longer - it's a great place to stay in Auckland and we loved the deco style running through the building and its furnishings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Stayed here for two nights and wished I could've stayed forever. THE MOST comfortable beds...beautifully appointed rooms...great customer service....nice central location. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing