We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of minor niggles”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A couple of minor niggles”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Quirky hotel in great location. Quiet considering its in CBD. Rooms are comfortable, though quite small. Bathrooms are gorgeous. Quite expensive for what you get. Just a couple of niggles - breakfast is only continental if included in room rate. You pay extra for anything cooked. Seemed a bit stingy considering what we paid. Some of the rooms overlook a lovely atrium but this does mean that you get no fresh air in the room, a big downside for us. You might want to check before booking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
735
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Fabulous location, staff, rooms etc. etc. I can't think of a single substantial negative thing to say. Stay here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

central location for exploring Auckland on foot, very close to the waterfront and in a location with interesting shops and restaurants nearby. Hotel happy hour in their lounge/gathering area provided a nice way to meet other travelers

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Great central location and stunning deco throughout. The staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful. Rooms are individual designed and decorated, with some really nice touches. It's expensive but worth it. Food is ok but not brilliant and I would say it's overpriced for what you get. Despite this, DeBretts is a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had the most fab room (206) with a small sitting room, good sized bedroom and the best bathroom EVER. The furnishings are very quirky as is the decor but we LOVED it. The breakfast (included) was great and the service perfect. We had one dinner there on our last night and it was delicious. The location is great for seeing around Auckland and for shopping and restaurants. We've just completed an 8 week trip around 4 countries and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. Will definitely stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nula82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The DeBrett has it all. Yes it was spotlessly clean, the service was intelligent and caring, the location perfect, the room was bright and generous and quiet, the bed perfect, the bathroom attractive (oh those groovy black and white tiles!) as well as practical. With its additional public spaces - an excellent restaurant, comfortable lobby, and drawing room - and its dramatic modernist décor, this hotel creates what many strive for, but few achieve: an absolutely delightful world of its own. Auckland is one of the world's most beautiful cities, but it's worth going there just to stay at the DeBrett.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissusMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel was in a great spot - close to ferry port with some excellent shops and restaurants around. Comfortable suite but a bit too snug for 4 adults + luggage although worked out good value per person.
No issues with staff pleasant enough. However, the continental breakfast only stretched to one cup of coffee per person and charges are made for extra cups of coffee or tea- we were not aware of this and it's not highlighted on the hotel info. For a hotel like this it seems pretty petty.
The complimentary drink in the drawing room was a great idea but again one night we were offered more and on checking out there was a charge againsst the bill which I queried and this was removed, as I had not authorised or signed for anything at the honesty bar.

Suggest the management/staff are more upfront about what is actually complimentary and what you will be charged for over and above this. Woudn't let this put you off though.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing