We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb boutique hotel with dedicated, hands-on owner”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Beautiful, stylish hotel with most aesthetically-pleasing decor of any hotel at which I have stayed. Room furnishings are exceptional and bathrooms spectacular. Centrally located on quiet street. First-rate, well-trained staff. Owner's personal attention to guests' comfort and enjoyment surpasses anything I have experienced. (She even came up to our room to change a light bulb herself.) If you're going to Auckland, don't stay anywhere other than the deBrett.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

This is a truly lovely hotel, nestled in the heart of a bustling city. It makes a refreshing change to stay in a high class privately owned property rather than one of the large chains.

We were met and showed to our room by John the owner who subsequently invited us into the drawing room for drinks. The drawing room is well stocked with books, movies and has an honesty bar, so great for quiet relaxation.

At the heart of the hotel is a glass roofed atrium and courtyard which provides a really good ambiance as you reflect in one of the oldest hotels in the city.

Rooms are chic and very well appointed - the beds and linnen are to die for. Continental breakfast is complimentary and excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Unlike any other hotel. I'm not a huge "hotel person," but my wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary, so we splurged on hotels a bit. From the striped carpet to the "honesty bar" to the restaurant, this place is the best. Staff was fantastic (but honestly, everybody we met in NZ was fantastic). Auckland is a little non-descript, but if you visit, you'll love staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Quirky hotel in great location. Quiet considering its in CBD. Rooms are comfortable, though quite small. Bathrooms are gorgeous. Quite expensive for what you get. Just a couple of niggles - breakfast is only continental if included in room rate. You pay extra for anything cooked. Seemed a bit stingy considering what we paid. Some of the rooms overlook a lovely atrium but this does mean that you get no fresh air in the room, a big downside for us. You might want to check before booking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Fabulous location, staff, rooms etc. etc. I can't think of a single substantial negative thing to say. Stay here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

central location for exploring Auckland on foot, very close to the waterfront and in a location with interesting shops and restaurants nearby. Hotel happy hour in their lounge/gathering area provided a nice way to meet other travelers

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Great central location and stunning deco throughout. The staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful. Rooms are individual designed and decorated, with some really nice touches. It's expensive but worth it. Food is ok but not brilliant and I would say it's overpriced for what you get. Despite this, DeBretts is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £199 - £1,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing