We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in town”
Review of City Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Garden Lodge
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

A great and homely hostel in Auckland!

Close to busstops, attraction, easy to reach, friendly staff, great kitchen, free WiFi, comfy common area and a nice garden. The showers are clean and there are plenty of them. Not noisy there at all and Ian is helping out with every kind of Information.

A place to stay long and come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for City Garden Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Came over from South Afica into the unknown and immediatly felt the warmth of the hostel,very friendly and helpful,will defiantly recommend it to anyone for a short or a very long stay.

Ryan

South Africa

Room Tip: Anywhere will be perfect
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

First of all I would just like to point out how much I was looking forward to staying at this hostel after reading the brilliant reviews. I arrived at the hostel and was greeted by the owner of which the first thing he said was your late...What a pleasant greeting. I was 30 minutes late due to a queue at immigration at the airport...He then said he needed to go out, gave me the key and a quick description of where my room was and left. After coming of a long haul flight and not knowing this hostel I did except him to at least show me to my room. I found my room and was immediately disappointed, it was damp, dingy and very dirty, I understand hostels are basic as you pay a lot less than a hotel but there is no excuse for cleanliness. The people in the hostel was very rude and unwelcoming I tried to make conversation and ask people where things were and they were not helpful, I understand this is not the hostels fault but still a valid point to make for other solo travelers. I have a terrible night sleep and was kept awake by noisy guests until about 2am...very frustrating. I stayed in many hostels after this one and all of them were fantastic, friendly, helpful and clean so I definitely came across a bad one here. Its a good location only 15 minutes to shops and plenty of buses, but if your traveling on your own and wanting to stay somewhere thats cosy, friendly and clean and helpful then this one isn't for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle_Bmw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I booked a female dorm and ended up in a 2 bed bunk room. The staff were very kind and helpful. There are so many common areas to hang out in, I enjoyed sampling each area. The kitchen is SO organized. It helped encourage the patrons to keep it tidy and clean. I really appreciated the sharing atmosphere. The first morning, I was so thankful to have access to a nice big, hot cup of tea with milk and sugar :) The location is in a lovely, trendy, yet quiet neighborhood. Easy access to Downtown, the museum, farmer's markets, the ocean, and even the mall.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank auryn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a nice change from traditional youth hostels for backpackers. It's a huge old house with character. I paid to have my own room (about 50 dollars) but there are dorm rooms. There is a kitchen, eating areas, reading room, and computers for email. Shared bathrooms. Good location, just a twenty-minute walk to the city center, or you can walk down to Parnell for shopping. Not many restaurants nearby, but most people cook anyway. Rooms could be slightly cleaner, but not bad. Hot showers. You can hear people chatting outside until 10 or 11, so not a place for people who want a really quiet place to stay. Friendly owners help with problems and advice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

a good Atmosphare with friendly people where you can have a good contact to others in the around the house garden, in the big kitchen and in the causy living room. Thanks to the manager to be so helpfull. Corinne und Boris

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

this hostel is located in penhill, which is very close to central auckland in approx 12 mins walk or just 5 mins by bus.
the hostel is very famous for travellers of all ages. a cosy and clean place with a nice, spacious kitchen, free coffee and tea, lounge area(s), internet facilities, mixed and female dorms available as well as private rooms. also airport transfer is provided and the owner IAN has always an open ear ;-)
most of the travellers moved from the hostels in downtown auckland to the city garden lodge, because its more quiet, clean and with reasonable prizes. i would always be back here. but make sure to book in advance :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#32 of 128 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
#10 of 63 in Auckland Central
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 128 in Auckland Central
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 128 in Auckland Central
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 128 in Auckland Central
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 128 in Auckland Central
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £14 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing