We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Garden Lodge
Ranked #43 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely big hostel in the beautiful Parnell with lots of local eateries and easy walk to downtown. This hostel has car parking outside which is a real bonus in a city. Clean and friendly staff and the owner Ian is really helpful in organising stuff and cars. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    38
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
6
43
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I came into Auckland in march'13 & was staying in down town Auckland. Then I came to know about city garden lodge & moved here for just one night. I ended up staying for 10 nights just because this hostel is a very unique hostel. No television, no music. Everyone talks to each other. The kitchen is immaculately clean. I was in a dorm room & every bed has a locker of its own. The location is perfect & is walking distance to the city centre. They have a yoga room where you can do meditation & feel relaxed. The house used to be Queen of Tonga house at one time. There is so much character in it. You feel privileged staying here. I will definitely highly recommend this placed to any one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had come from UK to study in New Zealand to begin with wanted a cheap but neat & tidy accomodation. Somebody was talking about City Garden Lodge at the college lunch bar , got the clue to search for this place. I rang up City Garden Lodge and a polite - courteous voice answered the call identifying him as RAJ , who quoted a very reasonable price. Moved in to City Garden Lodge and was absolutely satisfied with the Room cleanliness , courtesy shown by the staff , Kitchen and Toilet facility. The Manger ( Mr RAJ ) went extra mile to help me with my lost passport issue and getting the student visa which definitely was not his job. Wanted to go places before my classes actually began therefore decided to go with Quality Car Rentals Ltd , based on the recommendation of City Garden Lodge who provided great service through Roneel RAM and a great car for the journey ahead , all at a very reasonable price.I would recommend City Garden Lodge and Quality Car Rentals Ltd for your next New Zealand trip

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have stayed here 3 times before and I recently stayed over the weekend and the hostel is now under new owners. I have to say they are even more friendly than the last owners - which is saying something! It is always nice and clean and relaxing - something of a rarity with accomodation in auckland! always parking available and not far from the CBD. I will be staying there again on my next trip to auckland. Free tea and coffee and wifi makes such a difference too! Thanks again and see u soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanh599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

it was really the best hostel what we`ve seen during the whole stay in NZ. the house is great - a big old villa but not too big so it`s a familiar feeling. everything is clean and new inside. the lounge is so comfortable and the rooms are tidy and you have a lot of space. also the kitchen is clean every day and the people who are working here are all great. they do a awesome job. the showers are free and hot and in the kitchen is so a lot of free food and spices. that`s great. you can cook and if you need some spices just take it. we stayed here a while and are a bit sad to leave this nice chilled place.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12 =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We're a couple in our 20s and we stayed here for four nights in total...

Good
- It's just up the road from Lantana Lodge, which is owned by the same guy, but this place is better. The communal area is much larger, he'd just bought new couches and the lounge was very comfy
- The building itself is an old mansion house, converted into a hostel. Lots of character!
- Free wi-fi
- Kitchen, whilst being very small, is fully stocked and you get free tea and coffee
- The manager is such a lovely dude, he'll give you loads of help if you ask!

Bad
- Very little. The beds had clearly quite cheap mattresses but it didn't bother me. The only issue is that the reception isn't staffed during lunch hours, so you have to call them and they'll walk up from Lantana Lodge to help you.

I'd recommend Parnell as a place to stay in Auckland. It's a beautiful little suburb with a great high street, lots of independent coffee shops and restaurants and pubs and bars. SO much better than Auckland town centre, and it's only 10mins up the road by bus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

we stayed there at the beginning and at the end of our trip to NZ and we liked it.

even though we arrived in the middle of the night Ian had put out the key into the mailbox for us and we could go to our rooms without problem.

we stayed in a double room on both occasions and it was no luxury, but ok (we had worse in NZ for the same money).

the other guests were nice and the bathrooms and the kitchen were useable, but a little bit crowded at peak time.

the best thing about CGL is the location. Parnell is quite a nice spot in Auckland, the large garden and the terrace are lovely when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#44 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Property: City Garden Lodge
Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing