We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, pleasant garden, discomforting room”
Review of City Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Garden Lodge
Ranked #28 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet location, pleasant garden, discomforting room”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Positive:
Quiet location not far from Inner Circle Line bus stop; garden; free coffee&tea.
Negative:
My room (- maybe the worst in the house -) was smelly, an uneven vitrified terrace (window front over three sides, too bright in the morning). Sometimes responsible and informed reception staff was neither on site nor accessible by phone: I couldn't modify a booking for a later date (and so it was easiest to cancel it and to look for an alternative somewhere else).

Room Tip: I can't recommend the first floor double room with windows on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    41
    20
    15
    18
See reviews for
6
51
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Too bad this beautiful location and original property has been so compromised by the management overloading the premises. The off-street parking spaces were filled with people sleeping in their cars; more people were accommodated in tents in the backyard, mattresses in the yoga room, and a camper in the side yard. This meant overcrowding of the toilet and shower facilities, the kitchen, and the dining and outside areas. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent location, within reasonable walking distance of the Auckland CBD (and even closer to Auckland Domain and the Auckland Museum), in a rather upscale and very quiet neighborhood, about the perfect distance away from the nearest busy street. Both Inner Loop and Outer Loop buses stop a block away on Parnell St., which is lined with shops and a variety of close-by restaurants (including a fine Indian and good Thai one); most - but not all - a bit pricey. The owners are very friendly and helpful (though the office hours are a bit short - gap in the afternoon). The building oozes charm (and is in adequate, though not great, repair), with very pleasant grounds. Quiet at night. Showers and bathrooms are separate (so people taking showers in the morning don't block others out of the toilets ...). Kitchen is of adequate size, though a bit more room wouldn't hurt. Parking for 4 or 5 cars off-street. Additional free on-street parking is usually available nearby, though it can get tight at times (from limited experience, late afternoon especially seems to be a problem; early evening usually much better).

Mini-mart a block away; huge supermarket ~20 minute walk, on the edge of the CBD.

Room Tip: Many of the double rooms are clustered about a north facing top-floor balcony. Room 9, on the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful house, former summerresidence of the queen of Tonga. Very nice place, quiet at nights - the owner see to that, nobody can sits outside and talk the whole night. The owner is very friendly and try to help his guest with everything.

Room Tip: Have a double room in the big house, though the room with private bath have certain qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 266Nielsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I spent about a week in this place and I can say that I was a bit sad to leave!
Really nice place management is really nice and generous (and I saw people mentioning something bad about the owners but it's not the same one any more!)
Highly recommended place with a good location and free parking in the street! If I'm ever in auckland again I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remuera, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for a few nights on arrival into the country and found this to be a quiet hostel with very nice and helpful managers. |The hostel itstelf could do with a little maintenance but it is in a very pretty area of Parnell and there is plenty of free parking (not so easy found in cities...).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is home in Auckland away home in Japan.
We like very good atmosphere with trees.
The good points are quiet, clean, and friendly.
It is convenient with wireless Internet, and is close for shopping and Link-Bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sato-Hisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#31 of 122 in Auckland
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 122 in Auckland
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 122 in Auckland
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 122 in Auckland
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Property: City Garden Lodge
Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing