We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Botswana Butchery

Botswana Butchery
Ranked #111 of 2,481 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Botswana Butchery, one of Auckland's newest waterfront restaurant, combines premium produce, wine and local ingredients from the Auckland region with the best of what Central Otago can offer Located in the historic Ferry Building on Quay Street, Botswana Butchery brings a taste of the South to the heart of Auckland city. The restaurant offers lunch, dinner and bar menus in gorgeous surroundings. The ethos of 'fun dining' is key to Botswana Auckland, which is plush and wonderfully distinctive but also welcoming and fun. Botswana Butchery is all about relaxed, fun dining in a premium atmosphere. Botswana Butchery is well known in Central Otago with a restaurant in Queenstown and is highly regarded for providing sumptuous meals and superb service in opulent surroundings. Following its popular 'sister' restaurant, the Auckland restaurant produces fabulously flavoursome, succulent meals from the best local produce with high levels of service and attention to detail at every stage of its wine and food delivery. The restaurant seats approximately 120 guests inside and up to 40 on the terrace outside. Open from 11am until late, Botswana Butchery is the perfect option for an exciting new dining experience.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

really very well presented steaks etc. in excellent surroundings. staff were excellent and all round one of the best meals during our 3 week trip

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KAF0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Visited with a group of colleagues. There was a large table set for us all upstairs in the mezzanine floor. Lovely layout and amazing view over looking the water. The service was impeccable, our lovely waiter Mehul was very attentive and polite and with great knowledge of the dishes in order to help us make our mind. The steak was cooked to perfection. Thanks so much Botswana, great place to dine

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank shan0n23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

After hearing rave reviews, we decided it was a must to eat here & I’m glad we did. We were escorted to our table & drinks soon began to flow. Having started with cocktails, we decided to forego the extensive wine list (any wine lover would be sure to get a great drop). We ordered and our starters arrived. As only a couple of us were having starters, the others at the table looked on as we dove knife & fork first into scallops & other delicious morsels. Our mains arrived a short time after our plates were collected & the wagyu brisket was a definite hit.

The menu had no discernible theme, however the meals that were chosen & subsequently devoured were delicious & filling.

The staff were attentive & we enjoyed our experience, except being seated so close to the rear door that every-time it was opened we had a gust of frigid air hit us. Perhaps this was a ploy for our group to buy more drinks, if so it worked!

All in all it was a pleasurable experience & we will be back the next time we visit Auckland!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank thegayandthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Booked a large table. The staff are fantastic and a credit to the restaurant. The location is great and the variety of drinks is very good. The food though was average. To order and pay for a steak, then a sauce and then potatoes is very expensive at $68.50. Please review your menu and pricing.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Botswana Butchery in Queenstown is one of my all time favourite restaurants and I couldn’t wait to try the Auckland restaurant. They are both charming in their own ways and the food was to die for! Completely lived up to my expectations. The Auckland location is in a charming old building near the ferry terminal on the waterfront.

The service, food and atmosphere were both 5 stars. The meat was tender and juicy and cooked to perfection. Expect to spend around $100-$150 for 2 people but the quality of the meat is well worth it! Thanks Botswana Butchery for another amazing meal

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botswana Butchery also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Botswana Butchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing