We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mollies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mollies
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We are from USA and recently attended the wedding of our son to a New Zealand lass.
Mollies housed the wedding party in quite spacious lovely rooms (ours had a grand piano and fireplace which we enjoyed for four nights). The wedding was held there followed by a champagne reception and an exceptional coursed dinner for 36 guests. The secret of any fine establishment is that everything was done with great taste in service and food, and they all made it appear effortless. Congratulations to the new owners and a talented staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    12
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
122
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

After staying at mollies many times in the past, we were worried that with the change of ownership, it would no longer live up to it's past glory. However after staying there for the weekend we were relieved to say there was no need to worry. The place has received a breath of fresh air with the new owner's art collection , the fantastic service and food remains unchanged, and Mollies retains the level of charm we have always cherished during out stays.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We had been recommended Mollies from various friends and glossy travel magazines all over the world. It was given such amazing reviews we booked in for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon. Little did we know, since booking in early 2010 - the ownership had changed.

Architecturally the house and rooms are beautiful but on arrival we were greeted with a dirty bathroom, unprofessional service and as we found out later that night - old, thin, grubby bed linen. We were hugely disappointed.

We decided after the first night to give them another chance and informed them we weren't happy with the cleanliness of our room. We then went off to have breakfast in the Mollies restaurant where we were the only guests at the time. After both ordering scrambled eggs you could see how annoyed we were when the waiter brought us our poached eggs. Not the service you expect in an empty hotel.

How you can get away with charging $700 a night is beyond me.
I hope word gets around (back to all the top travel websites and magazines) that Mollies is no longer what it used to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Travel22219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I struggled to rate Mollies because although the basic criteria such as service, rooms, food etc. were good to very good, one expects much more from a $1000/night hotel. In essence, this is a cute B&B with passionate owners, who in turn, have molded their hotel into an experience rather than an elegant and spacious Relais & Chateaux property.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmmavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Visited, emailed and phoned mollies this week to discuss using it as a venue for an upcoming special event. Epic fail on the behalf of the general manager. Very unhelpful (didn't even bother replying to my email) and was distracted, disinterested and unfriendly when I called to follow-up. A real shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sazzle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Our stay at Mollies was just fabulous. The staff were warm and welcoming and the hotel building is absolutely gorgeous. We had booked one of the cheaper suites but it still exceeded our expectations in every way. I would love to see what the more expensive suites are like. We had a sitting room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs, and a bedroom, ensuite and balcony upstairs with harbour views. The degustation dinner was delicious. It's not a cheap hotel but it is a wonderful way to treat yourself or celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

A hotel you'll never forget and that's meant very, very positive. Once a truckers motel now a fantastic boutique hotel with a quality you wouldn't expect in this part of Auckland.
The hotel was designed by the owners, one of them once worked in our NYC and built a great reputation as an interior designer.
His wife Frances inherited the hotel from her mother Molly.
Dinner is very good but the best part is just before dinner when Frances and other people from Mollies sing Opera together with the best classical performers of New Zealand. We'll never forget this great place. Despite it's average location it's amongst our top three in the world. (the other two are Villa Salentein on Bonaire and Huka Lodge also in New Zealand).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamSteveHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollies

Property: Mollies
Address: 6 Tweed Street, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class:5 star — Mollies 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mollies luxury boutique hotel is located just moments from Auckland’s CBD in the gracious heritage suburb of St Mary’s Bay. Private, spacious and welcoming, it offers elegant accommodation in a relaxed and intimate 5-star setting.Mollies’ ten suites are spacious and beautifully appointed with bespoke furnishings, king size beds, exquisite hand-printed linens and marble ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mollies Hotel Auckland Central
Mollies Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing