We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamorous and cozy with a fantastic hostess!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mollies

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mollies
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Glamorous and cozy with a fantastic hostess!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Mollies is more a charming guest house than a small hotel. It is a classic beautiful house in one of the most upscale and quiet neighbourhoods, still half an hour walk to the sky tower and close to the ferries to Waiheke and to Auckand s fish market, an excellent place to go for the best oysters and seafoof lunch.The rooms at Mollies are spacious and beautiful and the service is outstanding: non intrusive, but warm, a delicate balance that is not easy to achieve. Our hostess, Nastasjia, was always there for anything we might need, always welcoming us with a smile. She is the one that adds to the place all the cheerfulness the whole city of Auckland lacks...while at the same time being really professional which is what to be expected in such an upscale place. It is a very relaxing place. New Zealand is one of the best places to eat, and so is Mollies Restaurant. The chilean chef, Octavio , and the rest of the kitchen team prepared the most delicious lamb, bread and desserts! And they have some of the best white wines of New Zealand included in their wine list. A la carte breakfast is also excellent. We really felt at home at Mollies, but as usual, the people working there, the staff, make all the difference. Without Nastasjia, Mollies would lack most of its exquisite personality and would just be just a nice house with some pictures and pieces of art displayed here and there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucuruchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    12
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
122
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff make Mollies such a wonderful place to stay. Joanna and Nastajia make the place hum. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is very good, and the service impeccable.
Keith and Catherine, Brisbane, Aust

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have been to Auckland a few times and I always thought hotels in this city were not that special. Fortunately, now they have Mollies. This is a fantastic boutique hotel with a great location and superb service. From the moment you arrive you will find out this place is special. They really care about their guests. The rooms are really big and spacious and the decor is just incredible. I almost didn't want to leave my room. The library has plenty of books and magazines to read. The fire place in my room was that extra touch that made it super romantic. The views from the rooms are great as well. It happens to have a wonderful location, far away from the touristy part of Auckland in a residential area. Nearby there are nice stores and places to eat. The hotel's restaurant has superb food and the ambiance is perfect. There were probably about 300 candles at dinner time and live piano music. Breakfast is delicious and very well planned. I will stay at this fantastic hotel any time. The front desk people suggested great restaurants and were so friendly and helpful. The only small problem I had were some little ants in my bathroom but compare with the great experience I had that is not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javier200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is the place to stay in Auckland. Large wonderful rooms, great breakfast. Terrific position not far from the groovy trendy part of town. Dinner is also wonderful here. Twice we have had a pianist and singer doing classical/opera. I just loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We are from USA and recently attended the wedding of our son to a New Zealand lass.
Mollies housed the wedding party in quite spacious lovely rooms (ours had a grand piano and fireplace which we enjoyed for four nights). The wedding was held there followed by a champagne reception and an exceptional coursed dinner for 36 guests. The secret of any fine establishment is that everything was done with great taste in service and food, and they all made it appear effortless. Congratulations to the new owners and a talented staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

After staying at mollies many times in the past, we were worried that with the change of ownership, it would no longer live up to it's past glory. However after staying there for the weekend we were relieved to say there was no need to worry. The place has received a breath of fresh air with the new owner's art collection , the fantastic service and food remains unchanged, and Mollies retains the level of charm we have always cherished during out stays.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We had been recommended Mollies from various friends and glossy travel magazines all over the world. It was given such amazing reviews we booked in for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon. Little did we know, since booking in early 2010 - the ownership had changed.

Architecturally the house and rooms are beautiful but on arrival we were greeted with a dirty bathroom, unprofessional service and as we found out later that night - old, thin, grubby bed linen. We were hugely disappointed.

We decided after the first night to give them another chance and informed them we weren't happy with the cleanliness of our room. We then went off to have breakfast in the Mollies restaurant where we were the only guests at the time. After both ordering scrambled eggs you could see how annoyed we were when the waiter brought us our poached eggs. Not the service you expect in an empty hotel.

How you can get away with charging $700 a night is beyond me.
I hope word gets around (back to all the top travel websites and magazines) that Mollies is no longer what it used to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Travel22219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollies

Property: Mollies
Address: 6 Tweed Street, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class:5 star — Mollies 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mollies luxury boutique hotel is located just moments from Auckland’s CBD in the gracious heritage suburb of St Mary’s Bay. Private, spacious and welcoming, it offers elegant accommodation in a relaxed and intimate 5-star setting.Mollies’ ten suites are spacious and beautifully appointed with bespoke furnishings, king size beds, exquisite hand-printed linens and marble ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mollies Hotel Auckland Central
Mollies Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing