We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful sight at night!”
Review of Sky City Casino

Sky City Casino
Ranked #52 of 267 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mega complex has two casinos, restaurants, bars, hotel, theater and the 1,000-foot high Sky Tower, the tallest tower in the Southern Hemisphere, which offers magnificent views and bungee jumping. The casinos offer favorite table games such as Blackjack, Baccarat, Jai Sai and Roulette plus more than 1,200 slots and gaming machines.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful sight at night!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We love to go to casinos. Many of our trips have included visiting local casinos. Well this one isn't exactly local for us - but we didn't want to miss it on our vacation. The actual tower reminds me of the Space Needle we have in Seattle. We had dinner at the deli. Tried to go to the buffet but they were all booked up for two and a half hours! Who would have thought there would be reservations for a buffet? We played the slots for a couple hours and found that there were many machines that we have at home, and a few that were different. By the time we left, the place was really humming with people. It is quite the nightlife place here. I'm sure we will go again before we head home. Even if you don't gamble there is plenty of people watching you can do. The atmosphere was fun and food at the Deli was good also, and huge portions for a reasonable price. We had enough left over for a whole other meal, but didn't want to carry it around with us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank roch2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    161
    100
    41
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“360 degree revolving restaurant on top”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Family dinner extraordinaire with our daughter and son-in-law, splurge drinks, apps and in no hurry at sunset. We missed the Casino and chose not to bungy jump on full stomachs, save that for our next trip back.No one can make only one trip to New Zealand it lures you to come again and again.
Among our most special places on Earth !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mullika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plenty of options for gamblers and non-gamblers alike.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

SkyCity Auckland is New Zealand's largest casino. It features lots of eating and drinking options at various price points and formality levels, and two hotels which are decent choices for CBD visitors. "Enhancements" such as double-zero roulette wheels and "Blackjack Plus" are creeping in, and are best avoided while you still can. Blackjack with fairly standard rules can currently be had from a $20 minimum on the main casino floor, and the poker room, which offers tournaments and cash games pretty much every day (check the website for the fine detail) is now centrally located next to a bar without too much intrusion from the slots.

The adjacent Sky Tower features a couple of upmarket dining choices, some options for the adrenaline junkie, and certainly the best view of Auckland short of a helicopter!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have Fun”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

me and my husband had a great time we took $40 each i came out with $68 but most of my winning went to my husband so he could keep playing it was a great way to end the night (bragging rights to husband next month things may change 3-2 to him)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seen One you have Seen them All”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Same Same but in a great location. Very clean I might add. It didnt seem to have much to it but at the same time its worth a look. The cafe - 'DEPOT' opposite was brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky City Casino also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sky City Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing