We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not trust your booking here”
Review of Quest on Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Eden
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Back in July last year, we were sucessful in obtaining tickets to the Pink Floyd Concert for February this year. Immediately after securing the tickets our group booked apartments at the Quest on Eden for the night of the concert. I had booked a two bedroom apartment for my husband and I as well as for another couple. My other work colleagues booked 3 separate apartments for themselves. With tickets and accomodation booked we thought all was in place for our "night away" This is where I need to say that my friends and ourselves have used Quest apartements through out the North Island on a regular basis and till now never had any problems, infact always had touble free and enjoyable visits.

On arriving at The Quest on Eden, after travelling from Rotorua we were told that our apartment booking had been cancelled on the 18th January by a woman. That was news to us. We asked why we were not notified by email regarding our booking being cancelled to be told it was not their policy to follow up cancellations with email. Firstly none of our party had cancelled our booking why would we - we had tickets for a concert!!!! Secondly we had checked the week before if parking was available for our car and it was then we were told that parking was indeed available and what sort of bedding configuration did we want in our apartment. So in our minds our booking was still in place on the 13th February. So god knows where he invented the apartment cancellation on the 18th January. The manager was rude and arrogant, telling us that we had cancelled the booking and that our booking and dates of checking didn't mean much to him as it was not his apartment policy to use the web site booking numbers or email communication. Something just didn't seem right at all and we feel that they either doubled booked or got a better price as there was many people wanting accomodation because of the Pink Floyd Concert.

We did manage to get another apartment booking, with the grumpy manager's help, at the Quest Albany for the night. This apartment was goregeous and the owner was wonderful and understanding of our plight and did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. The only thing was it was so far out of Auckland city that instead of enjoying a relaxing meal with our other friends we spent most of the time stuck in rush hour traffic. This also added extra expenses for us petrol for 2 extra trips to Albany and the other apartment cost more even when discounted.

After this experience we will now no longer trust the Quest Serviced Apartment Online booking site. Infact our next get away to the South Island this month has been booked with accomodations other than the Quest. We have double checked these bookings and have been assured that all is in place.

Room Tip: Getting your actual booking recognised might be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

I and a friend stayed here in a two bedroom suite - the bedrooms were acceptable and the lounge had a decent sofa but that's where the good news ends. Very much dated and worn, the rest of the furnishings were barely acceptable.
As reported by a previous reviewer we also had a terrible smell emanating from somewhere in the vicinity of the bathroom that made the whole suite unenjoyable. There was also a completely different yet equally foul smell in the adjoining corridor. This however was not the worst part of our experience as on the first night of our stay the washing machine (apparently not having been connected properly) leaked and we were faced with a veritable lake in the carpet outside the bathroom. We informed management only to be offered some rags to place over the wet spot, which didn't quite cover it, and we were left with a rather major inconvenience for the second night of our stay. Completely unacceptable that this wasn't dealt with satisfactorily.
Given the standard of accommodation, the lack of service, and the price we paid I would not recommend a stay at the Quest on Eden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Don't get fooled by the nice room photos online. The room was incredibly smelly. The smell of the old bedding was overwhelming. Bed covers looked beyond their use by date. Internet connection was dysfunctional. No air-conditioning. Hot shower, fridge and TV worked fine. The location was quiet but the smell made my sleep less than comfortable. Staff was friendly but we were expected to pay the full price on arrival which was odd. Other guests I spoke to had a similar experience. Taxi driver confirmed a poor reputation of this hotel. I liked the central location and the views. However, there are much better hotels in a similar location for a similar price. I would not go there again as the smell was unbearable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OziExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A short (but hilly) walk to the city but the furnishings and fittings tired. The shower barely worked, the oven was dirty, the corridor smelt overwhelmingly damp and smoky, and the "included" breakfast is at a nearby cafe only after 8am (useless for those like us with early flights).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I arrived at 7:45 am and was greeted with a warm 'welcolme home'. I had alerted the hotel that I would be arriving early and they said no problem. They were and are very accommodating. Here's the key, communicate your reasonable needs. Since I had read some other reviews that were not flattering, I realized that some problems were due to not asking, giving an excuse to complain. Adrain and Gina are very gracious innkeepers in the high quality 'old world' way. I had an excellent week, paying just a few dollars more for the view. It is worth it. I will be back 01 January for four months and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBUDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Suitable for business travel, with plenty of place to meet/work - but a very slow (almost dysfunctional) internet connection. Fine if you need to be in the vicinity of Chancery and prefer to self-cater. No luxury or service, but full laundry equipment in your apartment and plenty of restaurants around - small grocery story downstairs for provisions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Don't go expecting a 5 star luxury hotel, that isn't the Quest on Eden!

Booked for a single night, location a priority over anything else. Adrian, the manager, was pretty helpful in getting us a parking space, but as they were fully booked we ended up needing to find a spot on the street upon our return - and there were none. We managed to get into the garage (and it is a very tight fit) and find a space, but unfortunately upset some permanent residents. We were able to sort this with Adrian in the morning.

The room was pretty compact, we required a twin room and were on the 9th floor (9B) facing Eden Crescent. There was some minimal traffic noise, but better than I had expected. The kitchen area was well equipped, including a dish washer, and the bathroom had a washer and a dryer. The shower had a good flow and was very warm.

The main room area was a little dated, e.g. a CRT TV, but at least there were a selection of Sky channels (although the remote could do with new batteries)

Breakfast is at the Cafe Gloria about 2 mins around the corner - note, this includes up to $7.50 off any menu choice, or a selection from a menu. Your coffee isn't included, but it was the best $3.50 Cappuccino ever! The selection on offer were as good as I have had at other similar hotels. The cafe was very nice too.

One thing to consider is that the area is quite hilly, so if you are on foot and are less agile this may not be the best choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 65 in Auckland Central
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartm...
#60 of 132 in Auckland Central
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Eden

Address: 50-52 Eden Crescent, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartment-style hotel in quiet central city street, close to Queen St, Downtown, Viaduct Harbour, University of Auckland, Albert Park and Vector Arena. 29 Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, with fully equipped kitchen (including microwave & dishwasher), SKY TV, phone, hairdryer, complimentary amenities. Spotlessly clean, serviced daily. Reasonable rates. All apartments non smoking. Undercover hotel parking must be pre-booked ($20 per day). Friendly, helpful staff will help you make the most of your Auckland stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Eden Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing