We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quest on Eden”
Review of Quest on Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Eden
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked in a family visiting NZ (one of the parents on a business trip, so famly came along too). They stayed one night and I had to find them alternative accommodation. 2 bedroomed apartment was dirty, smelly and unsuitable for young children to stay. Very disappointed.

Had another visitor staying here at the same time, she reported that the room, although clean, had obviously had smokers in it and so stunk.

I will not be booking any more business travellers here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

On arrival there was no key left for us. The very grumpy manager came down to let us in. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were 4 of us for 4 days. The only servicing was clean towels and emptying the rubbish bin. No cleaning of floors. We asked to have teabags and coffee replenished and were informed what you get at checkin was all there was unless you wanted to pay regardless of how long you stay! The same goes for dishwasher and washing machine powder and dish washing liquid. The manager and receptionist were having a shouting match as we passed the office so they slammed the slide shut. Not a place I would go back to or recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippa110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this accomodation in a one bedroom apartment. First the good news - the staff here are very friendly and were happy to assist with all requests. The apartment was clean and I think may have had some upgrading as the carpets, curtains, bedding etc appear to be quite new. It is also good to have a second TV in the bedroom. The accomodation is also pretty handy for everything that Auckland has to offer. On the down side there were a few 'housekeeping' issues such as a bedside lamp in the bedroom not working, (this was not fixed after being reported), a dishwasher that was missing its racking components (these were replaced after reporting) and a frustrating lack of some utensils (bottle opener). However, perhaps my biggest issue with this accomodation is the lack of air conditioning. The apartment was extremely warm in the afternoons - heaven knows what it would be like in the summer. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, the property is at the top of a steep hill which might be an issue for less agile travellers. Also be aware that the breakfast choice at the cafe round the corner is limited to a small selection and does not include any tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Quest on Eden to go to a concert middle of July 2012 - we found it excellent, nice and close and the price was very affordable - walking distance to vector arena. loved the bedroom being seperate and had a washing machine and dryer and a dishwasher. The carpark was a bit dodgy getting in and out but small price to pay.

I don't know why the bad reviews we stayed at another place at the bottom of Queen street a year ago that was terrible - twice the price of here and very small and everyone was rude - Quest on Eden was very friendly, professional and clean

Won't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor to get a good view and also on the vector arena side to get the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym_Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed four nights at the end of April 2012 and cannot fault this welcoming, clean and hospitable place to stay in the heart of Auckland. When I booked I made my hope for a quiet room (some parts of Auckland can be dreadfully noisy) as I'm a light sleeper. I was given a lovely sea view room on a top floor and spent a lovely 4 days. Will certainly return to "Quest on Eden" and encourage others to stay. Quiet location limits traffic noise and not located in 'party central'.

Erica ( Room 8G)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I saw various reviews for this place some of which were fairly bad but others okay. After staying there for a week I side with the fairly bad ones. Firstly, the good bits. The room was nice - a good size and big windows and reasonably clean. However, it was mostly downhill after that. The room was serviced every 2 days which was a somewhat odd schedule but still acceptable except that they didn't replace anything that was used. You got one lot and no matter how long the stay you had to make do. They took one of my wash cloths the first day and a hand towel at the second service and didn't replace either. they also didn't clean the toilet. I used the dishwasher soap the first evening and it wasn't replaced. When I asked for more at reception I was told that additional supplies could be purchased. At $130/night + a parking charge of $15/night you would think that they could run to 20 cents worth of dishwasher soap. The same policy applies to soap powder for the washing machine and bathroom supplies. The cupboards contained little in the way of cook ware. Only 2 tiny saucepans and no coffee maker. I guess the latter explains why there was no coffee either. All in all they seem to be disregarding the small things that actually matter during an extended stay. I am in Auckland for 2 weeks every 2 months and given that there are several other better equipped Quests in the city, I won't be using this one again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Back in July last year, we were sucessful in obtaining tickets to the Pink Floyd Concert for February this year. Immediately after securing the tickets our group booked apartments at the Quest on Eden for the night of the concert. I had booked a two bedroom apartment for my husband and I as well as for another couple. My other work colleagues booked 3 separate apartments for themselves. With tickets and accomodation booked we thought all was in place for our "night away" This is where I need to say that my friends and ourselves have used Quest apartements through out the North Island on a regular basis and till now never had any problems, infact always had touble free and enjoyable visits.

On arriving at The Quest on Eden, after travelling from Rotorua we were told that our apartment booking had been cancelled on the 18th January by a woman. That was news to us. We asked why we were not notified by email regarding our booking being cancelled to be told it was not their policy to follow up cancellations with email. Firstly none of our party had cancelled our booking why would we - we had tickets for a concert!!!! Secondly we had checked the week before if parking was available for our car and it was then we were told that parking was indeed available and what sort of bedding configuration did we want in our apartment. So in our minds our booking was still in place on the 13th February. So god knows where he invented the apartment cancellation on the 18th January. The manager was rude and arrogant, telling us that we had cancelled the booking and that our booking and dates of checking didn't mean much to him as it was not his apartment policy to use the web site booking numbers or email communication. Something just didn't seem right at all and we feel that they either doubled booked or got a better price as there was many people wanting accomodation because of the Pink Floyd Concert.

We did manage to get another apartment booking, with the grumpy manager's help, at the Quest Albany for the night. This apartment was goregeous and the owner was wonderful and understanding of our plight and did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. The only thing was it was so far out of Auckland city that instead of enjoying a relaxing meal with our other friends we spent most of the time stuck in rush hour traffic. This also added extra expenses for us petrol for 2 extra trips to Albany and the other apartment cost more even when discounted.

After this experience we will now no longer trust the Quest Serviced Apartment Online booking site. Infact our next get away to the South Island this month has been booked with accomodations other than the Quest. We have double checked these bookings and have been assured that all is in place.

Room Tip: Getting your actual booking recognised might be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartm...
#62 of 132 in Auckland Central
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#85 of 132 in Auckland Central
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#55 of 132 in Auckland Central
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Eden

Address: 50-52 Eden Crescent, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartment-style hotel in quiet central city street, close to Queen St, Downtown, Viaduct Harbour, University of Auckland, Albert Park and Vector Arena. 29 Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, with fully equipped kitchen (including microwave & dishwasher), SKY TV, phone, hairdryer, complimentary amenities. Spotlessly clean, serviced daily. Reasonable rates. All apartments non smoking. Undercover hotel parking must be pre-booked ($20 per day). Friendly, helpful staff will help you make the most of your Auckland stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Eden Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing