We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

On my first trip to New Zealand I spent the two first days in this nice hotel before exploring the North- and South Island by car.
The hotel is situated within walking distance of the famous Skytower from where you have a breath taking 360 degrees vieuw over Auckland City and surroundings. So don't miss it.
Close by is also the waterfront - maybee not as impressive as the one in Cape Town but a close runner up - with lots of restaurants and things to see. Beeing there you will understand, why Auckland is called: City of sails.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    175
    207
    102
    73
See reviews for
92
278
56
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

After 2 weeks in a camper van in New Zealand, my boyfriend and I were excited for our last night in New Zealand in a hotel. We had booked the Hotel Grand Chancellor via Am Ex points. We expected it to be a 4 star hotel for the price equivalent in points that we were paying but it was nothing close. The rooms are converted apartments that have kitchen units, living spaces, bedroom and bath. Although it is roomy it was a bit dingy and had a very unusual smell to it. The other amenities such as the gym and restaurant were nothing to write home about. The location of the hotel, however, is fantastic. It is right near the harbour and walking distance to many of the popular Auckland streets and sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maserada Sul Piave
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here 2 nights during Rugby World cup. I must admit that the position is very good, but the room is not as nice and big as we would have expected from the price and the external overview of the palace. Our room looked at the back side, so there was not so much noise, but the view was terrible (on a construction site!). Internet is free and wireless only in the hall for 1/2 hour every day, so that was good for skype. If you find out a good price, I would suggest this hotel, because of its wonderful position.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinamicaTreviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights during the recent Rygby World Cup, as there were three of us had to use the pull out sofa bed and apart from not enough pillows - quickly remedied by reception it was very nice. Full size kitchen, roomy living area despite angular architecture. Again, windows were a little draughty and didn't block out street noise which is a shame as there is a major road running next to the hotel. Location is excellent, about 5 minutes walk to Viaduct Harbour and same to Sky Tower.
Restaurant ok if starving but there are nicer places within easy walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to minimise road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenslander
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

excellent base to explore this lovely city. one bedroom apartment was so spacious it was great for a 3 nite stay and finding a washing machine plus a dryer in the bathroom was a added bonus. front desk was excellent and could not have been more helpful. really enjoyed our stay and as it coincided with world cup the atmosphere in the viaduct and surrounds was fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here in a one bedroom apartment,which was huge compared to other hotels,the kitchen was fully equipped with a normal size stove and fridge,I was up on one of the top floors,and it was very quiet,despite the hotel being located on a busy street. The room was clean and well presented. This hotel is close to everything in the city,including the motorway.
I felt that the reception area was a little poor,considering it's a rather upmarket hotel,other than that everything was ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel was nice and our room was okay but it wasn't great. The front-desk service was terrible, on arrival we had no greeting, no smile and no information, we weren't even told which floor our room was on, or which direction to go and he didn't even listen to our query so we had to explain all over again. We not once received a smile from the main receptionist during our 2 night stay. Our door didn't lock and had to ask twice to get it fixed, our heating did not work, told reception but nothing was done so had a very cold sleep with one thin bedspread. Pool was good however and very friendly room service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 65 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing