We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We booked in to stay two nights - the first night we were coming straight from the airport, and advised the hotel staff that we would be arriving at approx 1am.

When we arrived, the guy at the front counter could not find our details. He had very poor customer service skills, and was not that great at english either. After about 25 minutes of him fussing about he told me that they only had one room but we would need to check out of it in the morning as it was reserved for other guests the following night!!
So basically we got to bed at about 2am after the initial mix up, then had to leave by 10am and get another room....

Anyway... this is meant to be a 4 star hotel. I wouldn't give it that, it was very cheap, with dirty white walls and shabby curtains.

Hardly anything works in the gym.

Also, the cleaning staff were hovering in the hallways constantly (but not doing any work!), and there were bags of dirty laundry sitting in doorways that were not collected for the 2 days that we were there.

Final words: DON'T STAY AT THIS PLACE.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — where to begin.....
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    192
    212
    105
    75
See reviews for
97
288
57
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

A very average city centre hotel with s/c facilities, it provides basic amenities which are adequate for a stopover but nothing special.
The Airbus stops nearby which is handy if you are flying in or out of Auckland. Our accomodation was clean and well serviced and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — impersonal
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We stayed in this apartment during our very first night in North Island. It was a horrible experience. I booked a 2-bedroom suite with "stunning views of the harbour". For the price I paid, it was certainly nowhere near what it was worth.The hotel room was so small for a 2 bedroom apartment... and the room with the 2 singles was really only designed to fit 1 single bed only..they had to cram the second single directly in front of the wardrobe, which meant no access to the wardrobe and little space for movement. Not to mention the air conditioner was broken in our room so it was quite hot and stuffy in the room and the TV remote control didn't work either (flat battery).

For $300NZ per night, I thought there would at least be pay tv.. nope.. and the balcony was very noisy as it was facing a main street. However, when we shut the glass doors, no noise could be heard, which was normally good, except that the air conditioner was not working....

The latter 2-bedroom hotels I booked afterwards which cost $100 cheaper a night than this hotel were triple times more spacious, luxurious and had stunning views of the harbour!

All I can say is that the views were the only positive thing about the hotel - other than that, it gets a thumbs down from me. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chezay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

This hotel claims to be 4* (self-rated) but fell well short of the mark. Being a conversion from an old hotel did it no favours. The service/standard was well below par - half the room would be serviced a day, the shower is over the half sized bath and you'd have to be about 4'9 to be able to properly use it (it's really short), the television did have sky as advertised but had bad reception on all channels, the liquor licence had run out so there was no minibar or alcohol in the restaurant, the pool is really claustraphobic and they charge you for towels to use it. Bring your earplugs if you want a harbour view - it's really noisy on the harbour side from being on the main road - and I say this having lived next to the main highway for 4 years
The owners of this hotel need to take a quick trip to a real 4* and re-assess the rating - I'd suggest 3* at most after some work on the service.
The only thing that was really good about this hotel is the location which is very central so you can walk to the CBD attractions easily but for the money you could find a much nicer hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank grooveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

We stayed in the penthouse apartment here in February 2007 while attending a family wedding nearby. WHne I rang to book a room the hotel informed me that the penthouse apartment would sleep the 5 adults in our party and was the same price as booking 3 separate rooms for all of us to stay in.

We arrived just after midday but our room wasn't ready and were told to come back at 2pm as it definately would be by then. Thankfully there were plenty of bars/cafes etc at the nearby Viaduct to keep us entertained. We got back just after 2pm and had to wait in the foyer for another 30 minutes before our room was ready. Don't exect any kind of special treatment just because you are in the penthouse! Whilst waiting we needed to use the bathroom. Unfortunately there are none close to the foyer and you have to walk through the pool area and use the ones in the changing room - not ideal.

There are only 2 lifts, both of which are painfully slow. The hallways are not air conditioned and are unbearable on a warm summers day.

Our apartment was stuning with amazing views over the harbour and city. The kitchen was fully equipped apart from tumblers - we had to drink water out of wine glasses as they were the only drinking vessels available. The 2 double and one single bedroom were spacious and the 2 bathrooms meant that there weren't too many squabbles over showers when getting ready for the wedding.

Although the apartment did come with toiletries there were no robes or slippers which I would have expected for a penthouse apartment. It was also obvious that the room had been prepared in a rush so we could get into it, there was rubbish on the floor and it hadn't been properly cleaned.

The restaurant downstairs does not serve breakfast, but there are plenty of places at the Viaduct that do,and the fresh air did our hangovers good.

Sadly we were only staying for one night so didn't really get much time to enjoy all the apartment had to offer.

  • Liked — fantastic apartmet
  • Disliked — sloppy service
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sygnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americans in the Bahamas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Chose this hotel on price, location, and T/A reviews. Reserved a 1 BR for a little more money and got upgraded to a 6th floor 2 BR that had a balcony all overlooking Auckland Harbour from about 2 blocks back from the harbourfront. It had a washer and dryer IN THE UNIT.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restauant
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aviators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

My husband and I live in Auckland, about 20 minutes north of the city. We decided to stay in town for a night because I had a work party (on a boat in the Viaduct) and we wanted to be able to have some drinks and then not worry about driving home. And we thought it would be a bit of a treat.

The Grand Chancellor is not a treat. We got a reasonably cheap rate off [--] and called the hotel and they matched it.

It is a place to stay - reasonably clean (some scuffs on the walls) and ok location (walking distance to the Viaduct harbour - but on a very noisy busy road). But the rooms were cramped and not luxurious at all. I felt like we were borrowing a cheap apartment for the night. Parking is horrible - you pay $20 extra and you have to drive down, down, down through a very confusing parking garage and then take the elevator back up. No valet available.

The employees mean well but seem under-trained, don't speak english well, and a bit overwrought. One of them was getting yelled at by a rude tourist when we walked in and looked like she was about to cry. The ones there the next morning seemed similarly bewildered.

I think there must be better places to stay. If you can get similar prices, I would think the Duxton or the Heritage would be far nicer with a much more luxurious feel.

Not really recommended.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — would rather pay a bit more and get something MUCH nicer
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing