We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A group of friends all took advantage of a Grabone special and booked 6 rooms. For $125, we were all happy with our 1 bedroom suites, late checkout and to have parking included also.

Suprised that the bar was not open by 5.15pm when we all descended for drinks before heading out for dinner and a show. It was almost 6pm by the time they got organised and open.

The restaurant is closed for next month or so while they do renovations, worked out ok as the breakfast and view at Mecca over in the Viaduct surpassed what the hotel could have offered.

All in all, a good stay and no complaints for the mere $125 we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed in for 2 nights. The booking was done by third party travel site, and got me studio instead of 1 bedroom like I intended. The receptionist was kind enough to make adjustments.

The next door building was in the middle of construction and the view or noise level during the day were not so good. The swimming pool and gym were disappointing(almost scary... pool looked like they keep sea animals in there).

Since I landed in Auckland early in AM, needed a place to shower, change and keep luggage after a long flight. Again the receptionist was kind enough to accommodate me on those.

It seems to be normal in NZ that when you order double or Qn room, they just put 2 twin size beds together and call it a queen. It didn't bother me but some may not like it.

Location, amenities, wifi, all pretty good. Typical service apartments in Auckland CBD.

Room Tip: 1 bed room and up are good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShoichiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Best things about Grand Chancellor : location quite central in Auckland, easy walk to viaduct and shopping, and free valet parking. Worst things : tiny room, double bed squeezed into it, bathroom very tired, noisy corridors, walls too thin. Public spaces grotty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Awful experience. Paid in full but be careful they take $100+ bond (credit card) per room and they do not release it till 3 days later!!! Never had a hotel do that before. People arguing in hallways, walls paper thin. Not a hotel for families. Service was mediocre. Parking $30per day. Off street, $2hr till 10pm then free till 7am. Rooms felt like a cheap motel. Never going back or recommending to family or friends.

Room Tip: Unless you want to party, loud music and people yelling at each other, bad service this is your hote...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandmcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The ideal hotel for any trip to Auckland. The rooms here are very comfortable, and I felt at home instantly. I stayed in a one bedroom suite, which could be compared to a small apartment. Bathroom was immaculate, with a strong powerful shower. The televisions were great, although full sky would be better than the 6 channels currently available. Cooking facilities made life a bit easier when I didn't fancy walking to the city for something to eat. Overall great, clean, and well designed hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The GC was our last accomodation in a month long visit to NZ. The first thing that won me over was that the hotel not only provided me (at short notice) with onsite parking, but out of the kindness of their Customer Managers heart, offered the parking at half the normal rate. Wow I say..!!
The check in was nice, smart and attentive with helpful staff, providing a means for our baggage to be easily transported, with a pleasant check in process.
The room was also nice, well presented, comfy and a great balcony view overlooking the viaduct towards the Auckland bridge.
Amenities were also nice, and practical.
We made good use of the Hotel pools, the hot pool was HOT, but oh so soothing once you were in. The main pool was COLD, but great for that'slap in the face' wake you up effect.
Location for us was fantastic. Driving out onto Hobson St then heading out was just too easy, The closest shopping mall was literally, out of the hotel front entrance to the end of Hobsn st ( and remember your at #1 Hobson st) and the mall is right in your line of vision. Too easy !!
Queen st was 2 streets over, which made for a nice evening walk to the city centre.
We thoroughly ejoyed our accomodation there and would certainly book ourselves in there again next time.
The only thing I would have liked different was having the free wi-fi available in the room rather than having to go to the lobby to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in January for $160. The room was tired and in desperate need of a facelift. The furniture, bedding and decor was dated and looked worn. There was one person on reception, so check in and check out was a slow process. We also paid approx. $25-30 for valet parking (very expensive). There are certainly better options in Auckland CBD for the same or lower price.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £75 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing