We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near waterfront and downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Near waterfront and downtown.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I got a very good internet deal for a studio room, but apparently was upgraded to a one-bedroom apartment, so ended up getting facilities I had not expected. It was virtually fully self-contained, with cooking facilities, microwave, etc. The temperature regulation in the room is good for Auckland's variable climate. Everything was clean and well-presented and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was roomy too. There is traffic noise, but it didn't disturb me, and the hotel is just far away from downtown to avoid the excessive noise from nightclubs and bars which I find a problem in bigger cities.
I made the most of the spa, lap-pool and sauna. There is a small gym too.
I approached reception a couple of times later in the afternoon and they were extremely obliging.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    193
    212
    105
    75
See reviews for
97
288
57
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neiafu, Tonga
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked a studio, but got a one bedroom which was quite nice.
basic but satisfactory cooking/fridge
bed was pretty horrible with a large tilt to one side.
a few minor problems with aircon and lights which were fixed promptly, they didn't replace the bed though!
interesting setup with the bar/restaurant hours - open at 5pm other than breakfast.
spa, gym and pool are great but not well utilised
good location, handy to shops and attractions
helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg.just
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel does not deserve the honour of being in the Grand Chancellor chain.

The room was pokey and noisy. I could hear neighbouring toilet flushing and showers running and people coming and going.

The bed was of very cheap quality and oddly low to the ground.

The bath towels were tiny & very thin.

Having to get reception to allow me down to the car park was irritating as well.

This sort of experience I would have expected from somewhere half the price of what I paid. I feel very ripped off and most certainly would not consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaWalker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is great 5min walk to Viaduct and 10min walk to Vector Arena.
Had a one bedroom apartment facing Sky City which had evrything we needed for our 4 days stay.Fridge freeze was included. Breakfast was great no complaints.
Intend to stay again in Dec.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour are a bit smaller (1 bed rooms )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A group of friends all took advantage of a Grabone special and booked 6 rooms. For $125, we were all happy with our 1 bedroom suites, late checkout and to have parking included also.

Suprised that the bar was not open by 5.15pm when we all descended for drinks before heading out for dinner and a show. It was almost 6pm by the time they got organised and open.

The restaurant is closed for next month or so while they do renovations, worked out ok as the breakfast and view at Mecca over in the Viaduct surpassed what the hotel could have offered.

All in all, a good stay and no complaints for the mere $125 we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed in for 2 nights. The booking was done by third party travel site, and got me studio instead of 1 bedroom like I intended. The receptionist was kind enough to make adjustments.

The next door building was in the middle of construction and the view or noise level during the day were not so good. The swimming pool and gym were disappointing(almost scary... pool looked like they keep sea animals in there).

Since I landed in Auckland early in AM, needed a place to shower, change and keep luggage after a long flight. Again the receptionist was kind enough to accommodate me on those.

It seems to be normal in NZ that when you order double or Qn room, they just put 2 twin size beds together and call it a queen. It didn't bother me but some may not like it.

Location, amenities, wifi, all pretty good. Typical service apartments in Auckland CBD.

Room Tip: 1 bed room and up are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoichiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Best things about Grand Chancellor : location quite central in Auckland, easy walk to viaduct and shopping, and free valet parking. Worst things : tiny room, double bed squeezed into it, bathroom very tired, noisy corridors, walls too thin. Public spaces grotty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing